UAE were restricted to just 83 on board. ©ICC

It was the second day of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers, where both Papua New Guinea and United Arab Emirates were playing for 2 points. UAE was playing for their second win whereas PNG was trying to get back in their form. The game was crucial for both the teams in respect of points.

After winning the toss, UAE chose to bat first. Openers Esha Oza and Chaya Mughal stepped into the ground and started the innings for UAE. They started off really well but the count of dot balls kept on increasing which created pressure on the batters.

Sibona Jimmy gave her team the first breakthrough in the form of Mughal. She was dismissed by a direct throw from Brenda Tau for 18 off 29. That was a breakthrough which PNG was waiting for.

Nisha Ali, who hit a quick-fire 50 in the last game, then joined her partner Oza. As soon as she entered, Oza, the other opener lost her wicket. Soon in the next delivery, Ali got out by a direct throw and joined Oza in the pavilion.

PNG’s extremely well fielding crumbled UAE’s middle-order. Experienced Subha’s 22 off 26 helped UAE to put up 83 on the board. For PNG, Jimmy took 2 wickets. Oa, Araa and Arua picked up 1 wicket each.

While chasing, it was easy for PNG as the target was mere 83. Openers Sibona Jimmy and Kopi John started their innings. This partnership did not last for a long time. Roopa Nagraj scalped Jimmy’s wicket in the 3rd over. PNG lost their second wicket in the 8th over.

Unlike UAE, their batters started building partnerships which made PNG get closer to the target. Some wonderful spell from UAE bowlers took the game till the last over. PNG lost their 8th wicket when 1 run was needed to win in the 3 balls. But Naoani Vare kept her nerves and took a single which helped PNG claim their first win by 2 wickets.

For UAE, Subha Srinivasan picked up 3 wickets. Nagraj, Seneviratne and Egodage bagged 1 wicket each.

Brenda Tau was adjudged the ‘Player of the Match’ award. PNG will play their next game against Netherland whereas UAE will take on Bangladesh on 10th July.