The International Cricket Council (ICC). © ICC

The Twenty-20 bilateral series held between Nigeria and Rwanda Women was held at the Abuja, Nigeria.


1st ODI: Nigeria won the toss and chose to bowl first. Rwanda was restricted 65 on the board. Nigeria chased by 4 wickets with 11 balls remaining.


2nd ODI: Rwanda won the toss and chose to bat first. Rwanda managed to score 85 in their 20 overs. Racheal Samson was the player of the match for taking 2 wickets at the economy of 2.80. Rwanda could accumulate a score of 85 runs. Nigeria won 5 wickets with 21 remaining.  


3rd ODI: Obulor and Abdulquadri were the top wicket-takers, taking the total of 6 wickets in the 3rd ODI. Nigeria managed to win the match by 7 wickets after the bowlers knocked out Rwanda’s batters. The host won the first three matches claiming the series, but Rwanda backed themselves as they won the last 2 matches.


4th ODI: Rwanda made a comeback as Nigeria lost the match by 5 wickets with 17 balls remaining. I Muhawenimana was named the player of the match after picking up 3 wickets breaking Nigeria’s winning streak.


5th ODI: Rwanda won the final match, choosing to field first after restricting the hosts to 61. The duo of Veronique Iriho and Muhawenimana took 6 wickets together as Rwanda won the match by 7 wickets with 29 balls to spare.


Nigeria won the series 3-2 at their home turf. Rwanda took positives such as their bowlers Veronique Iriho, who was the top bowler picking up 9 wickets and Muhawenimana, who had picked up 8 wickets. Also, Diane Dusabemungu from Rwanda was the top run scorer of the series with 71 runs.