Only two fixtures were played on the Day 4 of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Region Qualifier 2019 at Harare.

Group A

In the first session at Takashinga Sports Club, Mozambique took on Tanzania.

Mozambique won the toss and elected to bat first. They lost their first wicket on the third delivery and did not recover from that blow. Except the skipper Moiane who scored 15, none of the Mozambique batters reached the double figures. They lost all their wickets in rapid succession and the inning was folded in just 10.4 overs with 40 runs on board. Omary took 4-13 and she was supported by Saidi who knocked off the top order taking 3-8.

Tanzania took just 4 over to chase the target of 41 for no loss as the skipper Kibasu scored 5 boundaries in her unbeaten 26. Pascal was the other opener who stayed unbeaten at 9 off 5 deliveries.

Brief Scores:

Mozambique vs Tanzania

Mozambique 40 all out in 10.4 overs (E Moiane 15, TS Omary 4-13, Saidi 3-8)

Tanzania 43-0 in 4 overs (Kibasu 26*, Pascal 9*)

Tanzania won by 10-wickets.

Second fixture of the group was played at Old Hararians between Zimbabwe and Rwanda.

Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat first. Their openers Mayers and Mupachikwa made a confident start and added 82 runs for the first wicket. Mayers was the first to fell with 40 runs off 36 deliveries. Mugeri and Mupachikwa added 51 for the second wicket. Mupachikwa was the second batter out for 62 off 58 deliveries whereas Mugeri remained unbeaten on 31. Zimbabwe posted 145-2 after 20 overs.

Chasing 146 for victory, Rwanda inning crumpled under pressure and could manager only 63 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in their 20 overs. Gisele and Henriette Ishimwe were the only batters reaching the double figures with 19 and 14 respectively. Granger was pick of the bowlers with 3-11 handing Zimbabwe a 82 run victory.

Brief Scores:

Zimbabwe vs Rwanda

Zimbabwe  145-2 (M Mupachikwa 62, SM Mayers 40, Mugeri 31*)

Rwanda 63-8 (G Ishimwe 19, TS Granger 3-11)

Zimbabwe won by 82-runs.


Points Table:

Group A – Zimbabwe 6, Tanzania 4, Rwanda 4, Nigeria 2, Mozambique 0

Group B – Namibia 6, Uganda 4, Kenya 2, Sierra Leone 0.

Two more fixtures from the group A will be played on 11th May.