Namibia team celebrating. ©Zimbabwe Cricket

Second round of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Region Qualifier 2019 took place at Harare on 6th May 2019. First round saw Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Uganda and Namibia posting comfortable victories and sharing top spots in the Group A and B.

Four matches were played on the second day at Old Hararians and Takashinga Sports Club.

Group A

In the first session at Old Hararians, Nigeria took on Mozambique.

Nigeria won the toss and elected to field first. Mozambique got off to a bad start and never recovered from it. Nigeria skipper Blessing Etim turned out to be the hero. She clean bowled Haiong and Cuinica on the successive deliveries and completed a hat-trick as the keeper Oyronke took a catch to dismiss Mondlane on the next delivery. Mozambique posted a total of 93, thanks to an unbeaten knock of 38 in 24 deliveries by Magaia.

Chasing 94 to win, Etim and Nwobodo opened the innings. Etim could not repeat her first inning heroics and fell without opening the account. Nwobodo and Agazuma completed the run chase in 18.3 overs by posting a 70-run partnership. Nigeria won the match by 8-wickets.

Etim was declared player of the match.

The second fixture of the group took place at Takashinga Sports Club in the second session between Zimbabwe and Tanzania.

Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat first. Mupachikwa and Mayers added 78 runs for the opening wicket before Mupachikwa was run out for 30. Mayers went on to score 65 runs off 50 deliveries with 8 fours and 2 sixes. At the end of 20 overs, Zimbabwe posted 143 runs at the loss of 4 wickets.

Tanzania started the inning and had the worst possible start. Half of their squad was back into the pavilion by 7th over with just 10 runs on the board. They continued to lose wickets in regular intervals and by 13th over Tanzania were 8 wickets down for just 21 runs. Mushi and Finkili made sure there were no further loss of wickets and they added 30 runs for the 9th wicket.

Zimbabwe comfortably won the match by 92 runs in which Mayers was declared player of the match.

Brief Scores:

Mozambique v Nigeria

Mozambique 93-7 (C Magaia 38*, B Etim 3-14)

Nigeria 94-2 in 18.3 overs (B Nwobodo 33*, S Agazuma 28*)

Nigeria won by 8 wickets.

Zimbabwe v Tanzania

Zimbabwe 143-4 (SM Mayers 65, M Mupachikwa 30, Pascal 2-20)

Tanzania 51-8 (GL Mushi 16, AC Mushangwe 2-3, TS Granger 2-6, A Mazvishaya 2-15)

Zimbabwe won by 92 runs.

Points: Zimbabwe 4, Rwanda 2, Nigeria 2, Mozambique 0, Tanzania 0.


Group B

In the first session at Takashinga Sports Club Kenya played against Sierra Leone to start the proceedings in the Group B.

Kenya won the toss and elected to bat. Though they made a fast start, they lost wickets in regular intervals and were 45-3 by 8th over. From here on the skipper Ngoche and the keeper Juma launched the assault on the bowling and added 115 runs for the fourth wicket. Ngoche scored 73 runs in 53 deliveries with 13 boundaries. Juma remained undefeated on 39. Zimbabwe posted 170-4 in their 20 overs.

In their response Sierra Leone managed to score only 64 runs at the loss of 7 wickets. Ann Marie Kamara remained unbeaten on 30 runs. Zimbabwe comfortably won the match by 106 runs and Ngoche was awarded player of the match.

Second match in the group between Namibia and Uganda was a close affair.

Uganda won the toss and invited Namibia to bat first. Disciplined bowling effort by Uganda restricted Namibia to 115-6 in 20 overs. van der Merwe was the top scorer with 31 runs, followed by Wittmann with 25 runs.

Chasing 116 to win, Uganda lost their first wicket in the second over and they kept losing wickets in the regular intervals. van Zyl provided the crucial breakthrough for Namibia as she took 3 of her 4 wickets in quick succession. Nampiina launched a counter attack while batting at No. 8 as she scored 25 runs in 21 deliveries. However she fell at a very crucial moment in the match and remaining Uganda batters could not reach the target.

Uganda finished their inning with 101-9 handing a closely fought 14 run victory to Namibia. Irene van Zyl was awarded player for the match for her 4 wickets in just 7 runs.

Brief Scores:

Kenya v Sierra Leone

Kenya 170-4 (M Ngoche 73, S Juma 39*, Aminata Kamara 2-37)

Sierra Leone 64-7 (AM Kamara 30*, M Ochieng 2-7)

Kenya won by 106 runs.

Namibia v Uganda

Namibia 115-6 (A van der Merwe 31, SA Wittmann 25, Nakisuuyi 2-18, S Walaza 2-22)

Uganda 101-9 (S Nampiina 25, NK Bagenda 18, I van Zyl 4-7)

Namibia won by 14 runs.

Points: Namibia 4, Uganda 2, Kenya 2, Sierra Leone 0.


Next round of matches will take place on 8th May.