Uganda won against Sierre Leone. ©Zimbabwe Cricket

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Africa Region Qualifiers began at Zimbabwe on Sunday 5th May 2019. The matches will be played at Old Hararians and Takashinga Sports Club in Harare.

Group A

First fixture of Group A was played at Old Hararians between Zimbabwe and Mozambique.

In a one sided fixture, Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to bat first. Zimbabwe batters thrashed inexperienced Mozambique attack all over the park and posted a mammoth total of 198/3 in 20 overs. Mayers scored 62 in 45 deliveries with 3 fours and a six. Mozambique attack was wayward as 39 extras were the next best scorer for Zimbabwe with astonishingly 35 wides.

Mozambique inning was wrapped up in 20th over for just 35 runs in which no batter made it to the double figures.

Mayers was awarded player of the match as Zimbabwe posted a huge 163-run victory.

Second fixture of the Group A was played in the second session at Takashinga Sports Club between Rwanda and Nigeria.

Nigeria won the toss and elected to field first. Rwanda posted 102/6 in 20 overs due to tight bowling by Nigeria. Henriette Ishimwe was the top scorer with 27 runs.

In reply Nigeria could only post 65 runs, handing Rwanda a comfortable victory by 37-runs.

Brief Scores:

Zimbabwe v Mozambique

Zimbabwe 198-3 (S Mayers 62)

Mozambique 35 all out (A Mazvishaya 2-5, J Nkomo 2-7)

Zimbabwe won by 163 runs.

Rwanda v Nigeria

Rwanda 102-6 (H Ishimwe 27)

Nigeria 65 all out (MD Bimenyimana 2-11)

Rwanda won by 37 runs.

Points: Zimbabwe 2, Rwanda 2, Nigeria 0, Mozambique 0.


Group B

In the first session at Takashinga Sports Club, Namibia played Kenya.

Kenya won the toss and elected to field first. Namibia posted 117/6 from their 20 overs with van der Merwe and Wittman scoring 25 runs each. Kenya’s Ochieng picked up 3 wickets and Wachira assisted her with 2 wickets.

In reply, Kenya never recovered from the early blows and were down 7 wickets for 46 runs in 12 overs. Their inning was folded for 78 runs on the last delivery of the match. Lack of communication between the Kenyan batters was exposed as half the side was run out. Wittman and van Zyl picked up 2 wickets each.

Namibia comfortably won the match by 39 runs in which Wittman was awarded player of the match.

In the second fixture Uganda played against Sierra Leone.

Uganda won the toss and elected to bat first. Busingye’s unbeaten 65 runs in 59 deliveries was the highlight of the inning as they scored 143/2 in 20 overs.

Chasing 144 to win, Sierra Leone were bundled out for 53 runs in 17 overs. Aweko took 4 wickets for just 6 runs and Nakisuuyi picked up 3 wickets for Uganda as they posted a comfortable 90-run victory.

Busingye was awarded player of the match.

Brief Scores:

Namibia v Kenya

Namibia 117-6 (A van der Merwe 25, S Wittman 25, M Ochieng 3-11)

Kenya 78 all out (I van Zyl 2-9)

Namibia won by 39 runs.

Uganda v Sierra Leone

Uganda 143-2 (D Busingye 65*)

Sierra Leone 53 all out (C Aweko 4-6, Nakisuuyi 3-14)

Uganda won by 90 runs.

Points: Uganda 2, Namibia 2, Kenya 0, Sierra Leone 0.


Next round of matches will take place on 6th May.