Bengal won the U23 One Day League. ©Twitter/Jhulan Goswami

Bengal won the final of Under 23 One Day League 2018-19 against Mumbai in Nagpur on Sunday, April 14. Mumbai elected to bat first after winning the toss. They were hoping for a flying start which they are accustomed to. Openers Jemimah Rodrigues and SK Raut added 46 runs in 11.5 overs before Deepti Sharma handed over the first breakthrough to her team. Raut was dismissed for mere 14.

Then Vrushali Bhagat and Jemimah Rodrigues tried to steady the ship. Both added 45 runs before Rodrigues got dismissed after scoring 55 off 70, including 6 boundaries and a six. Later, they lost a few wickets in quick successions. Vrushali Bhagat scored 40 off 72 and Manali Dakshini scored a 25-ball 29 which helped Mumbai to put up 179 on board. Deepti Sharma bagged 3 wickets while Tanusree Sarkar and Shrey Karar picked up 2 wickets each for Bengal.

Chasing the total, Bengal lost their opener Richain a 5-ball duck. However, captain Tanusree Sarkar and Deepti Sharma built a partnership of 65 runs before Sarkar’s dismissal for 33. Wickets suddenly started falling at a regular interval where the middle order batters couldn’t even reach the double figure as Saniya H Raut picked up a 5-wicket haul.

However, Deepti Sharma stood strong at the other end, anchored the run-chase till the end and smashed an unbeaten century; which helped Bengal to win the game with six overs to spare.