Tahlia McGrath in action. ©Cricket Australia

Georgia Redmayne’s steady 98, Tahlia McGrath’s quickfire 62, Josephine Dooley’s 67 and Amanda Jade Wellington’s three-for powered Australia A to clinch the One-Day series over India A at Bandra-Kurla Complex ground, Mumbai on October 19.

Chasing 255, Australia A opener Georgia Redmayne scored a 123-ball 98 with 10 fours, which included two crucial partnerships of 89 and 129 runs with Tahlia McGrath (62 off 50), and Josephine Dooley (67 off 67) for the second and fourth wickets respectively, as the visitors’ claim another easy win.

Though the visitors’ lost their another opener Chloe Piparo very cheaply, Redmayne along with McGrath steadied the ship. Once they got settled, it became difficult for India A to dismiss them as they started hitting all over the ground. After McGrath’s dismissal,  Josephine Dooley too played an impressive knock. Redmayne finally fell in the 42nd over from Tanusree Sarkar’s delivery and missed the ton by 2 runs.

Amanda Jade Wellington and captain Molly Strano added the rest of the scores and Australia A comprehensively won the match as well as the series by 3-0.

Having won the toss, India A’s skipper Punam Raut elected to bat first. But they lost Priya Punia very early. It fell upon Raut and the middle order to resurrect the innings but they didn’t get the start which was required to. Nethra L got dismissed after scoring only 4 runs. Mona Meshram, along with Raut tried to steady the ship and they did a wonderful job with a partnership of 113 runs for the fourth wicket.

Just when Meshram scored a 77-ball 57, Belinda Vakarewa provided Australia A with the much-needed breakthrough by taking her wicket. After her dismissal, Sarker and Pandey were dismissed  off in a quick succession. Sushma Verma made a blitzy 33-ball 40* with 6 fours. Punam Raut played a captain’s knock, scoring 98 off 123 with 16 fours before getting out. Both their knocks, along with Meshram’s 57 helped India A to reach 254 for 8.

Though the home team tried their best, visitors’ had the last laugh. Both teams will now play a three-match T20 series from October 22.