Queensland Fire to play NSW Breakers at the WNCL Grand Final

MEGastar Lanning surge Australia to series win as Pakistan collapse again

Meg Lanning scored her 12th ODI century. ©Pakistan Cricket

SA Scorpions vs ACT Meteors

South Australian Scorpions put up a match-winning performance against ACT Meteors to record their 47 runs win at the Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide in the Women National Champions League on Sunday (February 03). Amanda Wellington was top bowler with 4 wickets to her name which led to ACT being knocked out with 7 overs to spare at 198. Hayley Jensen and Claire Koski were major positives for the ACT Meteors after taking 4 wickets and scoring 55 off 58 balls respectively. Although South Australian Scorpions finish the season with a win, they still end at the bottom of the WNCL table.  

Brief Scores:

South Australian Scorpions 245/10 (B Patterson 113(134), H Jensen 4-45) beat ACT Meteors 198/10 (Claire Koski 55(58), AJ Wellington 4-35) by 47 runs.


Victoria Women vs Tasmanian Tigers

Batting first, Victoria Women scored 260-7 in their 50 overs against the Tasmanian Tigers. Meg Lanning scored 105 off 101 balls with a strike rate of 104. Also, followed by unbeaten stands from Molly Strano(46*) and Nicole Faltum (33*), Victoria put up 260-7 and Tasmanian could only manage to make 246 in their set of 50 overs. Ultimately, losing to Victoria Women by 14 runs.

Brief Scores:

Victoria Women 260/7 (M Lanning 105(101), S Moloney 2-31) beat Tasmanian Tigers 246/10 (V Pyke 53(45), A King 2-29) by 14 runs.


Queensland Fire vs Western Fury

Queensland Fire's strong bowling show followed by Beth Mooney’s unbeaten 44 off 49 balls gave them 8 wicket win over Western Fury, who were dismissed for 100. Jemma Barsby was named the player of the match taking 4 wickets with the economy of 1.37 followed by a brilliant performance by Jess Jonassen(3-10), Sammy-Jo Johnson(2-29) and Holly Ferling(1-19) which helped them qualify for the WNCL Grand Final.

Brief Scores:

Queensland Fire 245/10 (B Mooney 44*(49), E King 1-23) beat Western Fury 100/10 (B Devchand 33(42), J Barsby 4-11) by 8 wickets.

The upcoming final is going to be held between Queensland Fire and New South Wales Breakers on Saturday(February 09). NSW have a chance to win the title of Women’s National Cricket League for the 20th time.