Proteas make last minute changes to squad for the upcoming series

New Update
Proteas make last minute changes to squad for the upcoming series

Faye Tunicliffe of SA Emerging during the Emerging Women's Triangular Series. ©Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Cricket South Africa have announced two last-minute changes to the Proteas squad ahead of their tour of the West Indies. Originally, wicket-keeper/batter Trisha Chetty and pace ace Shabnim Ismail had been named in the touring party but, both have now had to pull out due to unforeseen circumstances.

Chetty, who had earned a recall to the squad after missing out on their tour of England, cannot travel to the West Indies due to a disc protrusion on her lower back. She will not be able to play in the three-match ODI series, where ICC Women's Championship points are up for grabs, nor will she be able to participate in the five-match Twenty-20 series. Chetty will be replaced by 19-year-old wicket-keeper/batter Faye Tunnicliffe. This is Tunnicliffe's maiden call-up to the Proteas squad where she joins fellow new-comers Tumi Sekhukhune, Robyn Searle and Saarah Smith.

Ismail, who opens the bowling attack with Marizanne Kapp, had to withdraw her name from the squad because of family responsibilities after her father fell gravely ill.

Considering how important this tour was as preparation for the upcoming Women's World Twenty-20, it will be interesting to see how South Africa, a bowling side more than a batting one, does without one of their main strike bowlers. Losing Chetty will also be a big blow to them as they struggled without her in the keeping department on their previous tour when opener Lizelle Lee was given the responsibility with the gloves. Both Ismail and Chetty were two of South Africa's most experienced internationals as well, so their absence might affect the balance of the squad, especially one that has four uncapped players in it.


Dane van Niekerk (C), Chloe Tryon (VC), Laura Wolvaardt, Lizelle Lee, Suné Luus, Mignon du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Masabata Klaas, Zintle Mali, Faye Tunnicliffe, Robyn Searle, Tumi Sekhukhune, Saarah Smith