Preview: Time for both teams to gain important ICC Championship points

Maithilee Shetty
10 Feb 2019
Preview: Time for both teams to gain important ICC Championship points

South Africa will face Sri Lanka at home. ©ICC

South Africa cruised to a clean sweep in their T20I series against Sri Lanka with a 39-run win in the third match at SuperSport Park in Centurion.

Now that South Africa have sealed the T20I series, they would be in a good space for upcoming ODI series. Sri Lanka has to evaluate its drawbacks and perform better in order to improve their performance to redeem themselves in ODI series.

van Niekerk and Nadine de Klerk stared in the T20I as the Proteas comprehensively whitewashed Sri Lanka. Chamari Atapattu and Shashikala Siriwardene individually were not enough for the Lankans from losing.

The hosts outplayed Sri Lanka in all the 3 departments viz. batting, balling and fielding in the series. Dane Van Niekerk, the captain was impressive with her all-round performance with 142 runs and 3 wickets in the series.

This T20I series has been more of an experiment for Sri Lanka, to reconstruct a team. Shashikala Siriwardene was among the wickets (7 wickets in 2 games) and was second on the leading run scorers (70 runs in 3 games) in the T20I series. She has been formidable since T20I series against India and World T20. All-in-all we can say that she was the most adaptive to the South African conditions among the lot.

Like their men counterparts, this Women's Sri Lankan team looks under the rebuilding phase with a lot of introspection and evaluation.

When the last time the two sides met in ICC Women World Cup 2017 South Africa beat Sri Lanka comprehensively by 8 wickets.



“After a disappointing World Cup, a whitewash is really nice, we know that Sri Lanka is rebuilding as well but we are doing the same,” said Proteas Captain Dane van Niekerk



South Africa: Dané van Niekerk (c), Chloe Tryon, Lizelle Lee, Laura Wolvaardt, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Saarah Smith, Tumi Sekhukhune, Zintle Mali, Faye Tunnicliffe, Masabata Klaas, Andrie Steyn.

Sri Lanka: Chamari Atapattu (c), Prasadani Weerakkody, Anushka Sanjeewani, Tharika Sewwandi, Hasini Perera, Imalka Mendis, Harshitha Samarawickrema, Shashikala Siriwardena, Nilakshi De Silva, Umesha Thimashini, Kaveesha Dilhari, Achini Kulasooriya, Udeshika Probodani, Inoka Ranaweera, Oshadi Ranasinghe


For Complete Fixtures 

Read the Next Article