Preview: Match 3 - Supernovas vs Velocity

Akshay Mhaskar
New Update
Wyatt's blitz inning knocks off Trailblazers

Danielle Wyatt in action for the Velocity. ©BCCI/IPL

With both the places in Finals of Women's T20 Challenge up for grabs, Supernovas will go head to head with Velocity today at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

Currently, Velocity and Trailblazer have won one match each, they are separated only by the net run rate. Velocity's have 2 points from the only match they've played and their net run rate is 0.678, whereas Trailblazers have played both their matches and have posted 2 points with a net run rate of -0.305. Supernovas who have narrowly lost the first match they played, have 0 points with a net run rate of -0.1.

Should Supernovas win the against Velocity, they will qualify for the final in which the same teams will meet again at the expense of Trailblazers.

Skipper of the Supernovas, Harmanpreet Kaur, who almost single handedly won the first match will have to get the combination and strategy spot on if they have to beat Velocity today. Their bowling attack which has some formidable names in the world cricket could not deliver against Mandhana's onslaught in the first match, will have to get their act together.

Also their top order batting will have to contribute significantly and ensure they don't leave to accelerate the scoring too late, unlike the first match.

On the other hand, Velocity will be looking forward to 15-year old Shafali Verma who confidently scored freely against the Trailblazers spinners to deliver again. They will be hoping that Danni Wyatt can repeat her superb batting performance and also look to the experienced players such as Matthews, Mithali and Krishnamurthy to post good scores. Also, they will be keen to avoid the collapse like they had in the earlier match where they lost 5 wickets for 0 runs.

Their bowling attack who has the likes of Pandey, Bisht and Kerr who will be aiming to restrict the runs and take wickets in regular intervals.


Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (wk)

Overseas players: Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Natalie Sciver (England), Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand)

Coach: WV Raman

Velocity: Mithali Raj (c), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma (wk), Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy.

Overseas Players: Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Danielle Wyatt (England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), JahanaraAlam (Bangladesh)

Coach: Mamta Maben

The match will start at 7.30 pm. (IST).