Perry bags Rachael Heyhoe-Flint award

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Ellyse Perry on uncharted waters

Ellyse Perry celebrates a wicket. ©Getty Images

Ellyse Perry won the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint award - the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year - for the second time in three years on the back of an exceptional season across formats. The allrounder amassed 783 runs and took 28 wickets in 22 internationals (including the solitary Ashes Test match) between the period of 1 January to 22 November 2019.

Her run tally includes a maiden ODI hundred that came against New Zealand in the early part of the year, and a second Test hundred in what was a wonderful Ashes series for both her and the team. It was a series that included a memorable spell of 7 for 22 in the final ODI of the series - the best figures recorded by an Australian in ODIs. Fittingly, she ended the year just as she had started it: with a century - this one against West Indies in the Caribbean.

"It's an amazing honour and I'm a little bit shocked, given how many amazing performances there have been across the year," said Perry. "It's amazing to be acknowledged and I do truly appreciate it. It’s a really nice way to finish the year on a personal note."

"It's been nice to have a chance to tour so consistently with the Australian team. It's been an amazing year, I've really enjoyed all of it and it's just been nice to be a part of it," she concluded.

Understandably, Perry's incredible run saw her also bag the ICC Women's ODI Player of the Year award.

In a year where Australia notched up their record 18-consecutive ODI wins, and the T20I team continued to dominate the circuit, it was only obvious that another Australian would claim the ICC Women's T20I player of the year award. Alyssa Healy - who bagged the award in 2018 as well - retained her position as the top T20I player as per the ICC.

The right-hander clobbered 372 runs in just nine matches at an average of 53.14 and strike rate of 173.02. This included her record-breaking knock of 148 not out off just 61 balls against Sri Lanka at the North Sydney Oval, where she surpassed Meg Lanning's previous record of 133 not out - recording only a few months earlier. Healy also ticked off another milestone as she played her 100th T20I against Sri Lanka.

"I'm really pumped to be awarded the T20I Cricketer of the Year," said Healy. "The Australian women's team had a fantastic 12-month period and we played some really consistent T20 cricket. Whilst the individual award is really nice for me personally, I think it was great to see our team play so well throughout that 12-month period, especially leading into a home World Cup in 2020."

With 34 T20I wickets to her credit in 2019 - third most this year - Chanida Sutthiruang, the pace bowler from Thailand, bagged the ICC Emerging Player of the Year Award. Sutthiruang's big, booming inswingers were the catalyst for Thailand's incredible run in the ICC Women's T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019 in Scotland that saw them qualify for the mega event in Australia for the first time. She bagged 12 wickets through the Qualifiers which saw her win the Player of the Tournament award as well.

Individual awards aside, the ICC also announced the ODI and T20I teams of the year. Lanning is at the helm of both squads. In the ODI squad, she will be joined by teammates Healy, Perry, Jess Jonassen and Megan Schutt - all of whom have played stellar roles in Australia's splendid run this year.


Four Indians have also made the cut - three of them making up the bowling unit. Smriti Mandhana is set to open alongside Healy, with Lanning at three, Stafanie Taylor at four and England's Tammy Beaumont at five, followed by a host of allrounders.

Perry and Schutt are joined in pace department by India's opening duo of Shikha Pandey and Jhulan Goswami, while Jonassen, Taylor and Poonam Yadav complete the spin trio.

The T20I team is also dominated by Australia's presence with four players - all of whom are also part of the ODI team - making the cut; Jonassen the one from the ODI squad to miss out.


Healy will be joined by England's 'pocket rocket' Danielle Wyatt at the top of the order, with Mandhana at no. 3. Lanning and Lizelle Lee occupy nos. four and five with Perry leading a trio of allrounders.

Deepti Sharma and Radha Yadav - both of whom had wonderful years in the shortest format with the ball - will lead the spin contingent that also comprises Pakistan's Nida Dar. Shabnim Ismail joins Perry and Schutt as the third quick in the team.

"I'd like to pay particular tribute to Ellyse on winning both the Rachel Heyhoe-Flint trophy and the ODI Cricketer of the Year," said Manu Sawhney, ICC chief executive. "She has achieved so much over the last 12 months and becoming the first cricketer in history to complete the double of 1000 runs and 100 wickets in T20 international cricket is an exceptional achievement."

"Chanida's Emerging Player award recognises the huge achievement of Thailand in qualifying for their first-ever ICC global event and we're looking forward to seeing more of her and her teammates at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia next year. The form of all of the players recognised in the ICC Awards 2019 makes next year's event such an exciting prospect as the world's best cricketers go head-to-head for a global title. Fans around the world are certainly in for a treat."

Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award (ICC Cricketer of the Year): Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Women' T20I Cricketer of the Year: Alyssa Healy (Australia)

ICC Women's Emerging Player of the Year: Chanida Sutthiruang (Thailand)

ICC ODI Team of the Year: Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana, Tammy Beaumont, Meg Lanning (c), Stafanie Taylor, Ellyse Perry, Shikha Pandey, Jess Jonassen, Jhulan Goswami, Megan Schutt, Poonam Yadav.

ICC T20I Team of the Year: Alyssa Healy (wk), Danielle Wyatt, Smriti Mandhana, Meg Lanning (c), Lizelle Lee, Ellyse Perry, Deepti Sharma, Nida Dar, Shabnim Ismail, Megan Schutt, Radha Yadav.