NZC Awards: Penny Kinsella honored with Bert Sutcliffe Medal

New Update
NZC Awards: Penny Kinsella honored with Bert Sutcliffe Medal

Penny Kinsella (L) and Nensi Patel (R) © Getty Images

Former New Zealand batter Penny Kinsella was honored with the prestigious Bert Sutcliffe Medal for her contribution to growing the women's game on the final day of the 2022 New Zealand Cricket (NZC) Awards on Thursday (April 14). Northern Barve's spinner all-rounder Nensi Patel bagged the 'Domestic Player of the Year' award to conclude the NZC awards for the 2021-22 season.

Kinsella made her international debut for New Zealand in 1988 against Australia and represented her country in six Tests and 20 ODIs. Since her retirement, the right-handed batter has devoted herself to expanding the reach of cricket among girls. As a Deputy Principal of Onslow College in Wellington, she was a driving force behind re-introducing cricket for girls.

“It was a lovely phone call to receive and I was just so humbled,” Kinsella expressed her joy. “The things I do – I do because I want to do it for people. I want to recognise and keep people from the past involved so they can continue to be proud of what they’ve done in the game. I also have a real passion for developing young players and I’m hoping I can produce a New Zealand player out of that soon," she added.

ALSO READ: Is it time for New Zealand Cricket to push the reset button?

Kinsella has been an active member of the cricket community in New Zealand. She was involved in the merger of the New Zealand Women’s Cricket Council and the New Zealand (Men’s) Cricket Council in the early 1990s. In recent years, she was part of the project team compiling the history of women’s cricket in New Zealand and is on the board of the Cricket Museum, based at the Basin Reserve.

Patel, the 20-year-old all-rounder won the "Domestic Player of the Year" award on the back of her stellar performances in the domestic competitions, including Super Smash and Hallyburton Johnstone (BHJ) Shield. She took 11 wickets in the Super Smash while representing Northern Brave. In the 50-over competition, she topped the wickets charts with 18 wickets across 10 matches.


2022 NZC Awards 

International Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Sophie Devine (Wellington Blaze)

International Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington Blaze)

Women’s Super Smash Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington Blaze)

The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Suzie Bates (Otago Sparks) 

The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowlingEden Carson (Otago Sparks)

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Nensi Patel (Northern Districts)

Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Penny Kinsella


NZC Community Awards

 Young Player of the Year: Fran Jonas (Auckland Cricket) 

Community Cricket Activator of the Year: Frances Stewart (Cricket Wellington)

Best Female Engagement Initiative: Young Leaders (Cricket Wellington)

Outstanding Contribution and Services to Coaching: Maria Lankeshwar (nee Fahey) (Sydenham Cricket Club)

Best Diversity and Inclusion Initiative: Counties Manukau Premier League (Counties Manukau)

Community Cricket Collaboration Initiative of the Year: Canterbury Cricket