Papua New Guinea are the Champions of East Asia-Pacific Region

New Update
Day 1: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup East Asia-Pacific Region Qualifier 2019

PNG register a victory. ©ICC EAP

With two teams still in the contention to win the East Asia-Pacific Region qualifier, the remaining 3 fixtures were played on Day 4 at Port Vila in Vanuatu.

Match 13

In the first fixture of the day, Fiji and Indonesia met on Ground 1 for their final fixtures of the tournament.

Indonesia won the toss and elected to field first. Fiji lost four early wickets with the opener Vuruna scoring 14 runs. Later the skipper Muriyalo and Ofamoli built a partnership of 27 runs. But when the pair departed in the span of just 7 runs, rest of the Fiji batting was wrapped up for the total of just 69 runs in 19.4 overs. Muriyalo was the top scorer with 20 runs. Sitompul took 3-6 and Eduard took 3-10 for Indonesia.

Indonesia took just 11.3 overs to chase the target of 70 runs. Bastari remained unbeaten on 26 and the opener Anggraeni scoring 22 runs.

Brief Scores

Fiji vs Indonesia 

Fiji 69 all out in 19.4 overs (Muriyalo 20, Vuruna 14, Sitompul 3-6, Eduard 3-10)

Indonesia 73-2 in 11.3 overs (AAIP Bastari 26*, Y Anggraeni 22)

Indonesia won by 8 wickets.


Match 14

Japan played the host Vanuatu in their final fixture of the tournament.

Japan won the toss and elected to bat. Only the opener Oda 19 runs, Kanno 15 runs and Miyaji who remained unbeaten on 18, no other batter could reach the double figures. Japanese inning ended with 94 runs at the loss of 9 wickets. Navaika took 4-15 for Vanuatu.

Vanuatu chased the target of 95 in 14.3 overs for a loss of just 1 wicket. Langiatu was the only player to be dismissed for 35 in 24 balls. Andrew and the skipper Solman remained unbeaten with 31 and 23 runs respectively.

Brief Scores

Japan vs Vanuatu  

Japan 94-9 (E Oda 19, Miyaji 18*, N Navaika 4-15)

Vanuatu 95-1 in 14.3 overs (V Langiatu 35, R Andrew 31*, Endo 1-5)

Vanuatu won by 9 wickets.


Match 15

When both the undefeated teams Papua New Guinea and Samoa came head to head in the final fixture of the tournament, they had equal points. The winner of the game would qualify for the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier to be held in Scotland later this year, and also for the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier to be held in 2020. This match virtually became the final of the tournament.

Papua New Guinea won the toss and elected to field first. In form Samoa openers Lili'i and Bourne were dismissed cheaply with just 9 runs on the board. Mulivai and Pula added crucial 31 runs for the third wicket. When Mulivai was dismissed at the total of 40, Samoa lost 3 more wickets adding just 13 runs to the total. Nonu and Lafai added 29 runs for the seventh wicket. Samoa finished their inning with 82-6. Pula was the highest scorer with 23 runs. Arua picked up 3-9 and was supported by Tom who picked up 2-14.

Chasing 83 for victory Papua New Guinea lost 2 wickets for just 9 runs. The skipper Arua and Tau added 61 runs for the third wicket. When Arua was dismissed at 27, the score had reached 70 in 14.2 overs and only 12 more runs were needed. Tau and Vare scored the remaining runs without losing any more wickets.

Brief Scores

Samoa vs Papua New Guinea  

Samoa 82-6 (FLV Pula 23, T Lafai 14*, K Arua 3-9)

Papua New Guinea 83-3 in 16.4 overs (B Tau 32*, K Arua 27)

Papua New Guinea won by 7 wickets.


Points after Day 4: Papua New Guinea 10, Samoa 8, Vanuatu 6, Indonesia 4, Japan 2, Fiji 0.

East Asia-Pacific Region champions Papua New Guinea will play the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier to be held in Scotland later this year.