The fifth edition of the Women's Big Bash League was the first-ever standalone edition of the WBBL. © Getty Images

A seven-member panel to choose 12 players for the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) Team of the Tournament has been confirmed. This is the first time such a move has been taken. The team of the tournament will have a maximum of three overseas players as per the WBBL playing conditions.

The panel comprises Alistair Dobson – head of Big Bash Leagues, Matthew Mott – Australia’a head coach, Belinda Clark – former Australia Captain, Lisa Sthalekar and Mel Jones – former players, Alister Nicholson – commentator and Laura Jolly – Cricket Australia journalist.

“This will be the first season we name an official Team of the Tournament and it’s exciting to be able to recognise the best performed players in the competition in this way. We’ve got a good mix of panel members who have all watched a lot of WBBL and will have a close eye on the last round of matches in Sydney and Melbourne this weekend,” said Dobson.

“With the tournament going standalone this season, it’s been really pleasing to see all the fans turn out to watch the best players from across the globe in action both in person and on TV. We’ve seen some incredible moments across the season and picking the top 12 players won’t be an easy task.”

Leave a Reply