Nain Abidi makes a return to the national side post marriage

Maryam Mallick
New Update
Nain Abidi makes a return to the national side post marriage

Pakistan squad for Asia Cup announced ©Wisden India

Pakistan announced the squad for Asia Cup 2018 which is set to take place in Malaysia from June 3rd to June 10th. The T20 tournament will see defending champions India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Thailand and hosts Malaysia battle it out to establish themselves as the best in Asia in women’s cricket.

All-rounder Bismah Maroof will captain the team in her first major tournament after long-term skipper Sana Mir stepped down from captaincy following a disappointing World Cup campaign.

Batters Muneeba Ali, Bibi Nahida, and Javeria Khan have been named in a squad that sees Nain Abidi earn a recall into the team and regular opener Ayesha Zafar miss out. New-comers Omaima Sohail and Nida Rashid Dar have been named in the squad with Kainat Imtiaz.

Seamers Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, and Diana Baig remain in the squad following their success in Sri Lanka, while Sidra Nawaz takes responsibility with the gloves. Veteran spinners Sana Mir and Anam Amin are included in the squad as well, as the team looks to claim the title of the best in Asia after narrowly missing out last time around.

The side has much to prove after remaining winless in a nightmare World Cup campaign, but will approach this tournament with renewed energy and confidence after claiming their first ever ODI win over New Zealand and dominating their tour of Sri Lanka leading up to the Asia Cup as they look to improve in the T20 format with the T20 World Cup also fast approaching.

Asia Cup full schedule

Squad: Bismah Maroof (captain), Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Bibi Nahida, Javeria Wadood, Syeda Nain Fatimah, Ameema Sohail, Sidra Noor, Nida Rashid Dar, Kainat Imtiaz, Sana Mir, Nashra Sundhu, Anum Ameen, Natalia Parvaiz, Diana Baig and Javeria Rauf.

Also see: India squad for the Asia Cup