Basit Ali announced the women’s team under the captaincy of Bismah Maroof, who replaced former captain Sana Mir for the series against New Zealand, taking place in the UAE.


The series will be Pakistan’s first, ever since the team’s poor performance in Women’s World Cup 2017, where they finished without a single win. After that dismal performance, the Pakistan board had a complete revamp; firing the captain, coach, as well as several staff. However, despite being removed from captaincy, Mir will continue to be a part of the squad as a player, and Javeria Wadood will be the Vice-captain for the 14-member squad.


The selection committee also named four reserves.

Sidra Amin, Aliya Riaz, Aiman Anwer and Natalia Pervaiz have made it to the 14-member squad, while senior players Asmavia Iqbal and Nain Abidi are among those dropped from it. Mark Coles will also be joining the team as the head coach in place of Sabih Azhar. Abdul Raqeeb will serve as the new manager of the side for the series.



Ayesha Zafar, Bibi Nahida, Javeria Wadood (vc), Bismah Maroof (c), Sidra Amin, Iram Javed, Aliya Riaz, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Sana Mir, Diana Baig, Natalia Pervaiz, Aiman Anwar, Nashra Sandhu and Sadia Yousaf.



Anam Amin, Fareeha Mahmood, Ayesha Naz and Rameen Shamim.


New Zealand squad:

Suzie Bates, Sam Curtis, Sophie Devine, Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin, Thamsyn Newton, Katie Perkins, Anna Peterson, Hannah Rowe, Amy Satterthwaite, Lea Tahuhu

Leave a Reply