Odisha Cricket Association to start women’s league from January 15

Odisha Cricket Association to start women’s league from January 15

Sushree Dibyadarshini of Odisha. © Facebook

Odisha Cricket Association (OCA) will be organising a women’s league from January 15, the cricketing body announced on Sunday (January 10). A total of 90 players have been divided into six teams with the matches to be played in the round-robin league.

The matches will be played in both T20 and one-day formats which will provide for the selectors to pick teams for the BCCI domestic season speculated to start sometime in February and March. The teams have been identified as Odisha Green, Odisha Violet, Odisha Purple, Odisha Red, Odisha Yellow and Odisha Orange.

ALSO READ: Herons to face KiNi RR in Falcon Sports Club Golden Jubilee T20 Tournament’s final

54 cricketers who have represented Odisha at the senior and junior tournaments along with 36 players scouted from the ongoing women’s talent hunt program have been added to form a pool of 90 players.

A bio-bubble will be set up in the KIIT Campus where the players be accommodated with the matches being played across various venues in Bhubaneswar. The OCA will depute 24 match officials for this competition and be adhering to all COVID norms with the players and officials subjected to the RTPCR test.

Apart from this tournament, OCA will also conduct an exhibition match on January 13 between Odisha Blue and Odisha Pink. Madhuri Mehta and Madhusmita Behera will be the captains in the encounter. However, the captains of the six teams are yet to be decided.