New Zealand Cricket will hand eight players development contracts. © Getty Images

New Zealand on Wednesday, announced its 15 member squad for upcoming England and Ireland tour. With the lineup boasting of an uncanny infusion, that of young blood with much-experienced veterans, an exciting overseas season is under the belt.

The White Ferns are set to play 3 ODIs each against England and Ireland followed by a T20 tri-series featuring England and South Africa in June- July.

19-year-old Jess Watkin and former South Africa International Bernadine Bezuidenhout are the new faces in the team.

Watkin who adorns the reputation of being an explosive batter has to her name two Central districts Player of the Year awards and a double century in the Under- 21 Nationals.

Bezuidenhout is known for her hard-hitting, wicket keeping skills and athleticism has had three impressive runs in domestic leagues since shifting her base from South African cricket.

Under the captaincy of World Cup veteran Suzie Bates, the White Ferns are looking forward to an exciting run in the Northern Hemisphere.

Squad: Suzie Bates (C), Amy Satterthwaite (VC), Bernadine Bezuidenhout (wk), Sophie Devine, Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Green, Holly Huddleston, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin (wk), Anna Peterson, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu, Jess Watkin.

Leave a Reply