Nondumiso Shangase out as South Africa name squad for ODIs against Australia

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Full-strength South Africa well prepared for Kiwi challenge

Shabnim Ismail celebrates a wicket with her teammates. © Getty Images

South Africa have pruned their 15-member T20 World Cup to 14 for their home ODI series against Australia, starting on Sunday (March 22), it was announced on Wednesday (March 11). Nondumiso Shangase is the only player to miss out in the squad that will be continued to be led by Dane van Niekerk.

The Proteas will play three ODIs against the Aussies and are yet to win a game against them in the format. The closest they came to doing so was when they tied the match in 2016. It’s the first time Australia will tour the Rainbow Nation.

The aforementioned three games are a part of the ICC Women’s ODI Championship in which Australia are already the toppers with 34 points. South Africa will be high on confidence, having whitewashed New Zealand 3-0 away from home in January.

The first ODI will be played at Hollywoodbets Kingsmead stadium, before proceeding to City Oval in Pietermaritzburg for the second ODI with the series concluding at the Buffalo Park in East London on Saturday (March 28).

This squad was selected with an eye on the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand.

“This squad was selected with an eye on the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 in New Zealand,” said Clinton du Preez, convener of selectors. “As much as we want to expand the pool of players who can perform successfully for South Africa, it is important that we keep the momentum and continue performing well against the very best in world cricket while also helping the team to peak for major tournaments.”

Squad: Dané van Niekerk (c), Laura Wolvaardt, Lizelle Lee, Mignon du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Suné Luus, Chloe Tryon, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Tumi Sekhukhune, Trisha Chetty (wk), Nonkululeko Mlaba, Nadine de Klerk