Nigar Sultana to lead Bangladesh Emerging

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Bangladesh triumph over Scotland, to face Ireland in the finals

Rumana Ahmed plays a shot. © ICC

Nigar Sultana will lead Bangladesh Emerging in their six-match away series against South Africa Emerging in Pretoria. The two teams will play each other in three one-day and three T20 matches beginning on 23 July.

Bangladesh have announced a strong 14-member squad with the 21-year old wicket-keeper at the helm. While the likes of Rumana Ahmed, Jahanara Alam and Salma Khatun are missing from the travelling party, it is still an experienced unit full of international players. Of the group, only Fariha Islam Trisna has never represented Bangladesh in an international match.

Fahima Khatun, Khadija Tul Kubra, Nahida Akter, Ritu Moni, Sanjida Islam, Sharmin Akter and Nigar Sultana were all part of Bangladesh’s squad for the 2018 T20 World Cup in the Caribbean.

Bangladesh have not played an international match since the event where they failed to win a single game and finished at the bottom of the group.

Khatun, Ahmed, Shamima Sultana, Lata Mondal and Ayesha Rahman will be traveling along with the team to undergo a special training program in South Africa. While they are not part of the squad, they will be expected to learn and gain more experience ahead of the big ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifiers later this year.

Those missing out on the tour from the squad that travelled to the Caribbean are Panna Ghosh, Jahanara Alam and Fargana Hoque.

Squad: Nigar Sultana (captain), Sharmin Sultana, Murshida Khatun, Shobana Mostary, Khadija Tul Kubra, Fahima Khatun, Suraiya Azmim, Shaila Sharmin, Nahida Akter, Fariha Islam, Ritu Moni, Sanjida Islam, Nuzhat Tasnia, Sharin Akter.

Additional players: Salma Khatun, Rumana Ahmed, Shamima Sultana, Lata Mondal, Ayesha Rahman.


23 July: 1st one-dayer vs South Africa Emerging at Pretoria.

25 July: 2nd one-dayer vs South Africa Emerging at Pretoria.

28 July: 3rd one-dayer vs South Africa Emerging at Pretoria.

31 July: 1st T20 vs South Africa Emerging at Hammanskraal.

01 August: 2nd T20 vs South Africa Emerging at Hammanskraal.

04 August: 3rd T20 vs South Africa Emerging at Hammanskraal.