Shafali Verma to lead India at the U19 T20 World Cup 2023 | (ENGLISH)

Shafali Verma set to lead the side that also includes Richa Ghosh

WCZ Team
06 Dec 2022

Shafali Verma has been appointed the captain of the India squad for the inaugural ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup 2023. Another India international Richa Ghosh has also been named in the 15-member side that was announced on Monday (December 5). The tournament will be played from January 14 to 29 in South Africa.  

Shweta Sehrawat, who has led India Under-19 against New Zealand Development side in Mumbai, has been named Shafali’s deputy. Most of the members from that squad will be travelling to the global event with Shikha Shalot and Nandini Kashyap making way for Shafali and Ghosh. 

Shalot has been named among the stand by players alongside Najla CMC and Yashashri. Soumya Tiwari, G Trisha, and Sonia Mendhiya are the batters in the side with Hrishita Basu as the other wicket-keeper.

Four spinners including left-arm spinners Mannat Kashyap and Sonam Yadav have been named in the squad. Leg spinner Parshavi Chopra and off spinner Archana Kavi will round up the side.

Hurley Gala and Titas Sadhu are the pace-bowling allrounders in the team and they will be joined by Falak Naz and Shabnam MD to complete the pace contingent. 

India will also play a T20 series against the hosts South Africa ahead of the marquee event. The five-match series will start on January 27.

India: Shafali Verma (c), Shweta Sehrawat (vc), Richa Ghosh (wk), G Trisha, Soumya Tiwari, Sonia Mendhiya, Hurley Gala, Hrishita Basu (wk), Sonam Yadav, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshavi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Falak Naz, Shabnam MD

Stand-by players: Shikha Shalot, Najla CMC, Yashashri