West Indies in Australia: Karishma Ramharack returns to the squad

Karishma Ramharack returns to the side and Jannillea Glasgow has been included as West Indies named 15-member squad for the Australia tour

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
West Indies team

West Indies during T20 World Cup 2023 © ICC/ Getty

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced a 15-member West Indies squad for their to six-match limited over series tour to Australia. The series is scheduled to start from October 1 with the T20Is and the ICC Women's Championship (IWC) ODIs will be played from October 8.

Hayley Matthews, who captained the side to series wins against Ireland at home, will continue to lead the side Down Under. New head coah Shane Deitz, who coached Netherlands before, has also joined the squad at the end of August.

Off spinner Karishma Ramharack has returned to the squad and young Jannillea Glasgow has been included in the 15-member side. The squad has a heavy mix of young playees with Ashmini Munisar, Djenaba Joseph, and Zaida James completing the quartet.

"The selection panel has chosen to maintain most of the players who were victorious in the home series against Ireland. Jannillea Glasgow, after having an outstanding Rising Stars Women’s Under-19 tournament, has been included in the 15-member squad and we see the return of Karishma Ramharack," Ann Browne-John, CWI lead selector for women's cricket, said.

"This team is one we believe will continue to build and develop as our game evolves in the rapidly growing landscape and high-performance setting of women’s cricket. We have continued to place confidence in some of the developing players. Several of the players are coming off title-winning performances in the Caribbean Premier League (WCPL) so we are expecting them to continue their good run of form. This is a team we believe can produce competitive cricket against a top team like Australia, under the guidance of the new Head Coach and led by the captain Hayley Matthews who’s enjoying a very productive 2023 thus far."

After the Ireland series, the players were participating in the WCPL second edition where Matthews-led Barbados Royals lifted the trophy beating Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final.

West Indies squad: Hayley Matthews (c), Shemaine Campbelle (vc), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shamilia Connell, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Jannillea Glasgow, Chinelle Henry, Zaida James, Djenaba Joseph, Ashmini Munisar, Karishma Ramharack, Stafanie Taylor, Rashada Williams


October 1: 1st T20I, North Sydney Oval, Sydney ​

October 2: 2nd T20I, North Sydney Oval, Sydney (night) ​

October 5: 3rd T20I, Allan Border Field, Brisbane (night)

October 8: 1st ODI, Allan Border Field, Brisbane ​

October 12: 2nd ODI, Junction Oval, Melbourne ​

October 14: 3rd ODI at Junction Oval, Melbourne