Freya Kemp returns as England name squads for Pakistan series

Freya Kemp makes her return to the T20I squad and will be available as a batter

Women's CricZone Staff
Updated On
New Update

Freya Kemp will be available as a batter against Pakistan © Getty

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Friday (May 3) has named the T20I and ODI squads ahead of the home white-ball series against Pakistan which is scheduled to get underway on Saturday, May 11, 2024. Freya Kemp, who last featured in the T20I series against India in December 2023, will be making a return to the squad. Meanwhile, Tammy Beaumont will miss out on the three-match T20I series after having made a comeback in the format during the New Zealand tour in February. 

Linsey Smith, who marked her return to the T20I side against the White Ferns, has been retained for the T20Is. On the other hand, Northern Diamonds’ Hollie Armitage has been dropped after featuring in the squad for the first three T20Is.

Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danielle Wyatt, Sophie Ecclestone and Alice Capsey are available for the entire series after their absence from the squad in the opening three T20I games in New Zealand due to the Women's Premier League. 

As for the ODI squad, the Heather Knight-led side has made three changes after a successful campaign against New Zealand. Sophia Dunkley, Danielle Gibson and Bess Heath have not been included in the team for the Pakistan series. England will be entering the series with a 13-women squad instead of a 16-women squad against the White Ferns. 

ALSO READ: Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana's opening blitz hands India series win

England head coach Jon Lewis expressed his excitement for the home summer. He said, “It’s great to be kicking off the summer of sport on home soil. Edgbaston is an incredible place to play cricket, the atmosphere is always special and it will be a huge occasion. I know the group are looking forward to playing in front of our fans in grounds across the country throughout the series.”

Eying on the upcoming T20I World Cup in Bangladesh, Lewis aims to get the squad ready for the big occasion. “These two series against Pakistan give us an opportunity to build, develop and ensure we are in the best place come the World Cup in Bangladesh in September. We are very keen whenever possible to make sure all the players vying for places in the World Cup squad get opportunities to play cricket this summer so that they are able to put in performances that help secure a place in the squad for Bangladesh.”

The first T20I at Edgbaston will be followed by the second T20I at the County Ground in Northampton on May 17 and the third T20I at Headingley in Leeds on May 19. The ODI series commences on May 23 at the Incora County Ground in Derby. The second ODI will be held at the Cooper Associates County Ground in Taunton on May 26, while the final ODI will take place at the Cloud County Ground in Chelmsford on May 29.

England T20I Squad: Heather Knight (C), Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Charlie Dean, Sophie Ecclestone, Lauren Filer, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Bess Heath, Amy Jones (WK), Freya Kemp, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Linsey Smith, Danni Wyatt 

England ODI Squad: Heather Knight (C), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Charlie Dean, Sophie Ecclestone, Lauren Filer, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones (WK), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Danni Wyatt