Lauren Filer and Danielle Gibson handed maiden ODI call-ups

Lauren Filer and Danielle Gibson earned maiden ODI call-ups. Emma Lamb has been dropped from the side that played in West Indies

New Update
Filer and gibson

Lauren Filer (L) and Danielle Gibson (R) © Getty Images

England name their 15-member squad for the sold-out Ashes ODI series on Monday (July 10). Western Storm duo Danielle Gibson and Lauren Filer are poised to make their debuts in the ODI series kicking off on July 12.

Tammy Beaumont, a key figure in the ODI set up, also makes her return to the squad after her record-breaking 208 at Trent Bridge in the one-off Ashes Test match last month. The double centurion backed up her form with a match-winning knock of 83, taking The Blaze to a win over Northern Diamonds in the Rachel Heyhoe Flint Trophy on July 7.

Heather Knight’s side enters the series on the back of an Ashes T20I series win. England registered back-to-back T20I victories to hand Australia their first series defeat since 2017. With the series win England ensured that they are alive in the Ashes, with the points standing at 6-4 in favor of Australia. 

ALSO READ: Capsey heroics help England register T20I series win

“We were delighted with our T20 series win and look forward to the next stage of the Ashes with everything to play for,” said Head Coach Jon Lewis.

Lewis added, “We’re pleased to welcome Tammy (Beaumont) and Lauren (Filer) back into the group. Tammy showed her quality during the Test match with her double-hundred while Lauren offers us real pace in our bowling alongside Issy (Wong).”

Lewis also acknowledged the incredible support the team has received throughout the series. “It is fitting to finish with this deciding ODI campaign as the first sell-out series in England Women's history.”

England Squad: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Charlie, Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Lauren Filer, Danielle Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones (WK), Nat Sciver-Brunt, Issy Wong, Danielle Wyatt


July 12 - 1st ODI, Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol

July 16 - 2nd ODI, Ageas Bowl, Southampton

July 18 - 3rd ODI, The County Ground, Taunton