Salma Khatun, Rumana Ahmed rested from Bangladesh's squad to Sri Lanka

Nigar Sultana Joty will lead the 16-member squad with Sultana Khatun and Disha Biswas as the uncapped members

Women's CricZone Staff
Updated On
New Update
Bangladesh and punching above the weight

Bangladesh © ICC/ Getty Images

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 16-memebr squad for their tour to Sri Lanka starting from April 29. Senior players Salma Khatun and Rumana Ahmed have been rested from the squad, the governing body said in the release on Tuesday (April 18).

Salma and Ahmed have been instrumental in Bangladesh’s performances over the years. They have been rested keeping the workload in mind. Marufa Akter, young pace sensation who impressed everyone with her performance in the T20 World Cup, will sit out of the tour owing to her exams.

Sultana Khatun is the new face in the squad and is likely to make her international debut during the tour. Disha Biswas, who captained Bangladesh in the U19 T20 World Cup 2023, is the other uncapped face in the side.

Fariha Islam Trishna is back in the squad having missed out on the T20 World Cup 2023 selection. Apart from Salma and Ahmed, wicket-keeper Dilara Akter has also been dropped from the side.

All the ODIs will be played at the P Sara Oval in Colombo and all the T20Is will be played at the Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) Ground in Colombo.

The three ODIs will be part of the ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) and it will be Bangladesh’s second series in the championship having lost the three-match series in New Zealand 1-0 – the other two matches were washed out. Sri Lanka have so far featured in six ODIs in the championship across two series against Pakistan and India and have lost five of them.

Bangladesh squad: Nigar Sultana Joty (C), Fargana Hoque Pinky, Shamima Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Murshida Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Sanjida Akther Maghla, Sobhana Mostary, Lata Mondol, Shorna Akter, Nahida Akter, Fariha Islam Trishna, Ritu Moni, Disha Biswas, Rabeya, Sultana Khatun


1st ODI – April 29

2nd ODI – May 2

3rd ODI – May 4

1st T20I – May 9

2nd T20I – May 11

3rd T20I – May 12