New Zealand to host India in six-match LOI series in February ahead of Women's World Cup

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
New Zealand to host India in six-match LOI series in February ahead of Women's World Cup

New Zealand players congratulate Smriti Mandhana on scoring a century. © Getty Images

New Zealand will host India in a six-match Limited Overs International series in February next year as part of their final preparations ahead of the ICC Women’s World Cup at home. The series consists of one T20I and five ODIs that will be played across three venues, New Zealand Cricket announced on Friday (November 12).

The tour will kick off on February 9 with the only T20I of the series at McLean Park in Napier followed by the first ODI at the same venue a couple of days later. The teams will then move south to Nelson for two more ODIs that will be played at Saxton Oval before the final two ODIs on February 22 and 24 at the John Davies Oval in Queenstown.

The series will provide Sophie Devine’s side an opportunity to finalise their plans and put their finishing touches on their preparation for the mega event.

The World Cup, originally scheduled for 2021 was inevitably postponed given the impact of Covid-19 both in New Zealand and around the rest of the world. However, the showpiece event is now on track to be played in March-April next year and will be the first time in 22 years that New Zealand is hosting a Women’s World Cup.

“It hasn’t been a straight-forward process and we’ve needed to work through a number of unexpected changes before finalising the arrangements,” NZC chief executive David White said. “Having said that, I’m delighted with the volume and quality of the international cricket to be played over the summer, particularly given the importance of, and the relevance connected to these games. The India series is a crucial part of the White Ferns’ World Cup preparations.”

For India too, who last played a series " rel="noopener noreferrer">against Australia in September-October, this is the only international series confirmed ahead of the World Cup.


9 Feb: 1st T20I, McLean Park, Napier

11 Feb: 1st ODI, McLean Park, Napier

14 Feb: 2nd ODI, Saxton Oval, Nelson

16 Feb: 3rd ODI, Saxton Oval, Nelson

22 Feb: 4th ODI, John Davies Oval, Queenstown

24 Feb: 5th ODI, John Davies Oval, Queenstown