New Zealand, Australia share T20I series after decider gets washed out

New Update
New Zealand, Australia share T20I series after decider gets washed out

© ICC/Twitter

Australia won the first T20I. New Zealand managed to eke out a last-ball win in the second match, thanks to the inside edge of Maddy Green’s blade. The stage was well-set for a decider at the Eden Park in Auckland. But, alas! The weather had other ideas on Thursday (April 1).

The hosts had gotten a jolt before the game, with Frances Mackay, the top-scorer from the second T20I, ruled out of the final T20I as well as the ODIs due to a partial tear in her right calf. Lauren Down, part of the ODI squad, was called up for the final T20I as the hosts continued to miss regular skipper Sophie Devine due to a mental fatigue.

The toss was delayed by 105 minutes, thanks to a steady drizzle. Amy Satterthwaite called it right and asked Australia to bat first in what was a 13 overs-a-side contest. Alyssa Healy made her intentions clear as early as in the third ball, pulling Jess Kerr for a four through fine leg. In the next over, though, Rosemary Mair got rid of Beth Mooney, who’d made an unbeaten 61 on Tuesday, for just four. Mooney walked down and then looked to guide the ball through the off side, but got an edge, which Down snaffled at short third man.

Healy hit Kerr for another four in the next over, this time over the bowler’s head. But a couple of balls later, the heavens opened up and didn’t permit any further play. The teams ended up sharing the series 1-1.

Brief Scores: Australia 14/1 in 2.5 overs (Alyssa Healy 8*; Rosemary Mair 1/5) vs New Zealand. Match abandoned due to rain.