Mumbai, Baroda, Karnataka win on day six of Senior T20 Trophy

Mumbai, Baroda, Karnataka win on day six of Senior T20 Trophy

Mumbai opener Jemimah Rodrigues and Baroda's batter Yastika Bhatia © Getty Images

Odisha continued their dominance in the Elite Group B, while Mumbai thrashed Sikkim in just the sixth over on Friday (April 22). Day six of the Senior T20 Trophy saw Karnataka register their first win of the tournament with Baroda continuing their winning ways with a dominant win over Gujarat.

Thriller in Puducherry and carnage in Ranchi:

Rajasthan registered their third win of the tournament in a thriller after beating Andhra in the final over of the match. Andhra won the toss and opted to bat first and captain Sneha Deepthi made a quickfire 70 off just 40 balls to take her team past 120. She did not get any support from other batters as Andhra scored 128 for 8 in the first innings. 

Also Read: Senior Women’s T20: Shikha Pandey, Shafali Verma lead from the front; Goa, Railways remain unbeaten

In reply, opener Sumitra Jat’s half-century helped Rajasthan find some momentum when wickets were falling at the other end. Rajasthan needed six runs in the last over. Even though they lost three wickets in the final over they managed to go past 128 to win their third match of the tournament. 

At the Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA) international sports complex, Mumbai humbled hapless Assam by 10 wickets. Janhvi Kate and Saima Thakor took two wickets each to skittle Sikkim to 63 for eight in the first innings. Simran Shaikh (34 off 17) and Jemimah Rodrigues (29 off 14) finished the chase off in just the sixth over for Mumbai.

Yastika’s purple patch continues and Sikkim wins big:

Yastika Bhatia’s third consecutive half-century in the tournament helped Baroda clinch an impressive win over Gujarat at the Punjab Cricket Association Ground in Mohali. Baroda were invited to bat first and Bhatia added 81 runs for the second wicket with Tarannum Pathan who scored 40 runs off 37 balls. Baroda lost some momentum after fall of the wicket but, Tanvir Shaikh’s 33 off 16 balls helped Baroda go past 140. 

In reply, Gujarat’s opening pair added 52 runs for the first wicket, but none of the other batters could do much. Despite Bhavana Goplani’s fighting half-century, Rajasthan could only score 122 for seven in the chase as Baroda won the match by 20 runs. 

Batting first, Samayita Roy Prodhan and Purni Maya Guruny’s half-centuries took Sikkim past 150 runs. Arunachal Pradesh managed to take three wickets but Manizha Mumtaz’s late hitting took them to a mammoth total. For Arunachal Pradesh, Megha Sharma fought a lone battle with her 49 runs. She fell short of her well-deserved half-century by just a run when she was run out by Tabita Subba. None of the Arunachal Pradesh could add substantially to the total as they could only score 98 for seven in the chase.

Also Read: Batters day in Senior T20 as Jemimah, Harmanpreet, Taniya, Yastika, Sushma make merry

Dominant Odisha and relief for Karnataka

Odisha continued their dominance as they won their fourth consecutive match of the tournament. Playing at the Greenfield Stadium in Trivandrum, Odisha captain Madhusmita Behera won the toss and opted to bat first. Odisha’s opener Kajal Jena went on the attacking mode from the beginning as the opening pair posted 55 runs in just the sixth over. Sushree Dibyadarshini and Sarita Meher hitting took Odisha to 106 for three in 12 overs.

Jharkhand lost Durga Murmu for the first ball duck but recovered well to push in the chase. Priyanka Priyadarshini and Sujata Mallik took two wickets each keeping the pressure on Jharkhand bowlers as they never found any meaningful partnership. Sushree Dibyadarshini was involved in two run-outs as Jharkhand fell short of the target by 16 runs. Odisha are now leading group B with four wins from four matches. 

Karnataka breathed a sigh of relief as they registered the first victory of the tournament against Madhya Pradesh. Karnataka’s captain Veda Krishnamurthy won the toss and opted to field first at the 

Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot. After some early wobble captain, Pooja Vastrakar added 53 runs with Tamanna Nigam for the third wicket. Vastrakar was dismissed for 49 in the penultimate over as Madhya Pradesh scored 136 for five in 20 overs.

In reply, G Divya’s 42 off 38 balls helped Karnataka build a solid foundation. Later D Vrinda’s 39 off 30 balls and captain Krishnamurthy’s unbeaten 29 off just 19 balls helped Karnataka cross the line in the final over of the match. 

Brief Scores:

Andhra 128/8 in 20 overs (Sneha Deepti 70; Shanu 3/22) lost to Rajasthan 129/9 in 20 overs (Sumitra Jat 51; E Padmaja 3/29) by one wicket

Assam 63/8 in 20 overs (Ruhina Pegu 16; Saima Thakor 2/11) lost to Mumbai 65/0 in 5.1 overs (Simran Shaikh 34, Jemimah Rodrigues 29) by 10 wickets

Baroda 147/7 in 20 overs (Yastika Bhatia 50; Renuka Chaudhari 4/15) beat Gujarat 122/7 in 20 overs (Bhavana Goplani 58, Tarannum Pathan 2/10) by 20 runs

Odisha 106/3 in 12 overs (Kajal Jena 39; Nidhi 2/21) beat Jharkhand 90/7 in 12 overs (Monika 27; Priyanka Priyadarshini 2/16) by 16 runs

Madhya Pradesh 136/5 in 20 overs (Pooja Vastrakar 49; Chandu V 2/33) lost to Karnataka 139/5 in 19.4 overs (G Divya 42, Soumya Tiwari 2/15) by five wickets

Sikkim 152/3 in 20 overs (Samayita Roy Prodhan 55; Shivi Yadav 2/38) beat Arunachal Pradesh 98/7 in 20 overs (Megha Sharma 49, Lhakmit Lepcha 2/12) by 54 runs