Malaysia Team announced for the asia Cup. ©

Malaysian Cricket Association announced the 15-member-squad for the upcoming ACC Asia Cup. Six teams will be featured in the tournament – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand, and Malaysia. It will take place from 3rd June to 10th June 2018 in Malaysia. Each team will play against the other teams once and the top two teams will compete in the final.

This tournament will be the seventh edition of the ACC Women’s Asia Cup and the third edition to be played in the T20 format. Except for the host team, all the remaining teams have played before. Malaysia will take part for the first time in this tournament.

This team has some promising talents. Opener Christina Nina Baret, captain Winifred Anne Duraisingam and Nur Syazwina Hanim are the key players of the team. The young leg-spinner Nur Syazwina Hanim took 5 wickets in 4 games in the ASEAN Women’s T20 Open Tournament in Thailand earlier this year. She has been named in the reserve players list.

25-years-old Baret helped her team to the victory with an unbroken partnership of 46 runs with captain Winifred in the women’s Twenty20 cricket competition against Singapore last year.

The other key players are Azmi sisters, Zumika Azmi and Sasha Azmi. They made history and became the pride of their community (orang asli community) after winning the bronze medals in cricket at Kuala Lumpur in SEA Games last year.

While talking about the Asia Cup, Captain Winifred told, “A great opportunity to play with top teams, Malaysia will put in 100% and improve ourselves with the experience.”

Asia Cup full schedule

Malaysia Team Preview


Winifred Anne Duraisingam (c), Nur Nadhirah Mohd Nasaruddin, Yusrina Yaakop, Christina Nina Baret, Intan Jamahidayu Jaafar, Mas Elysa Yasmin Zulkifli, Zumika Azmi, Mahirah Izzati Ismail, Wan Julia Wan Mohd Rosli, Dhanusri Sri  Muhunan, Aina Najwa Abdul Rahman, Sasha Azmi, Ainna Hamizah Hashim, Noor Hayati Zakaria, Arianna Natasya Benn Rakquidean


Afiqah Fatin Farhana Azman, Nur Syazwina Hanim Abdul Halim, Emylia Eliani Mohd Rahim.

Leave a Reply