Maisy Gibson, Amy Smith win at Cricket Tasmania Awards

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Maisy Gibson signs for Hobart Hurricanes

Maisy Gibson. © Getty Images

Maisy Gibson and Amy Smith won the Female Tigers Player of the Year and Female Young Player of the Year award respectively for 2019-20, Cricket Tasmania announced on Friday (May 1).

Gibson debuted for Tasmania in the season and picked up 10 wickets at an average of 26 in eight matches. She also shone with the bat, including hitting an unbeaten 57 against Victoria.

“I’m very pleased for Maisy in winning this award, she has quickly become one of our key contributors in both formats of the game,” said Salliann Briggs, head coach of the Tigers.

“She has worked incredibly hard on all areas of her game, particularly physically and on her batting. Her partnerships in the middle order have given this team the confidence to compete against some of the top teams.”

Gibson had Belinda Vakarewa, Corinne Hall and Meg Phillips as the contenders for the award.

ALSO READ: Belinda Vakarewa awarded the WBBL Player of the Year award by Cricket Tasmania

“As a leg spin bowler, her planning is just as good as her execution and she is a captain’s dream when you can bowl her at any stage of the game,” added Briggs. “Her fight and desire to improve is very impress and I am very pleased to announce that she is our inaugural Tiger’s medal winner.”

Meanwhile young Smith dominated all aspects of the game for Tasmania, winning the young player of the year award second time in a row. She was in the under-15 and under-18 Female Tasmanian squads and was also named in the Cricket Australia XI U-15 team. She was also named the non-travelling member for the Cricket Australia U-19 side.

“She is always seeking advice and feedback on her game,” said Sara McGlashan, head coach of Female Pathway, taking about Smith’s dedication.

“After seeing her hard work throughout the winter, it was no surprise that she had such a successful season. Amy has a very bright future ahead of her and is a very deserving winner of this award.”