Maddy Darke, Lisa Griffith, Courtney Neale join Western Australia for 2021-22 season

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Maddy Darke, Lisa Griffith, Courtney Neale join Western Australia for 2021-22 season

Western Australia during 2020-21 season © Getty Images

The Western Australian Cricket Association (WACA) announced a 13-member squad for the 2021-22 domestic season on Wednesday (May 12). Maddy Darke, Lisa Griffith and Courtney Neale are the new faces in the squad. Off-spinner Emma King, who retired at the end of WNCL 2020-21, Megan Banting and Piepa Cleary are the ones missing out from the squad that played last season.

Pace bowling allrounder Griffith and 20-year-old wicket-keeper Darke represented NSW Breakers in the WNCL and also Sydney Sixers in the WBBL06. Neale, a fast bowler from Victoria, also decided to join WA ahead of the season.

“We’re thrilled to bring in three quality players in Maddy, Lisa and Courtney and look forward to welcoming them into our program,” Kade Harvey, WACA high-performance general manager said.

28-year-old Griffith, who captained Breakers in the past, has also has represented Sydney Thunder and Sydney Sixers in the WBBL. Wicketkeeper-batter Darke was also Griffith’s teammate at the Sixers during WBBL06. She was part of the Australia A squad during their 2019 tour to England. Sheldyn Cooper, who won female rising star award at the WACA Awards, has also been awarded a contract for the upcoming season.

ALSO READ: Samantha Bates joins; Elyse Villani and Molly Strano opt out as Victoria name squad for 2021-22 season

Skipper Chloe Piparo, Australia international Nicole Bolton and leg-spinner Alana King are the other prominent names in the squad as they retained their contracts for 2021-22. Bolton won the Zoe Goss Medal at the WACA Awards along with WA’s WNCL Player of the Year award.

"We have an incredible depth of talent in the squad, with a diverse mix of players, youth and experience this year,” Harvey added.

Squad: Nicole Bolton, Zoe Britcliffe, Mathila Carmichael, Sheldyn Cooper, Maddy Darke, Ashley Day, Amy Edgar, Lisa Griffith, Molly Healy, Alana King, Courtney Neale, Chloe Piparo, Georgia Wyllie