Lizelle Lee opts out of WBBL07 to take a break after an extended period on road

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Lee-Webb show ensures Renegades win, tougher qualification scenario for Sixers

Lizelle Lee in action against Sydney Sixers. © Getty Images

South African opener Lizelle Lee, who was supposed to play for Hobart Hurricanes, has opted out of the upcoming Women's Big Bash League.

Lee played for the Manchester Originals in The Hundred before travelling to West Indies for three T20Is and five ODIs. With Dane van Niekerk, Marizanne Kapp, Nadine de Klerk and Laura Wolvaardt travelling to Australia directly for WBBL07, Lee has pulled out of the tournament to take a break after an extended period on the road. 

"With so much cricket, she would like a break," said Hurricanes coach Salliann Beams. "We can have empathy and relate to that with the amount of cricket she has played and the quarantines she has had to do. It’s part and parcel of cricket these days."

Lee had moved to Hurricanes from Melbourne Renegades ahead of WBBL07. However, despite Lee's absence, Beams is confident that they have a good team and are looking to sign another overseas player in place of the South African. 

ALSO READ: Evelyn Jones to play for Melbourne Renegades in WBBL07

"It is a good team. We have recruited a few players, but we have recently lost Lizelle Lee. She was our third overseas signing, who unfortunately won’t be coming now. So, we are looking for another overseas signing." 

Meanwhile, the other South African, Mignon du Preez, has travelled to South Africa from Antigua after the West Indies tour but is likely to make it to the tournament for the Hurricanes.

With England pulling out of the Pakistan tour, they would be available for the WBBL along with the Indian players, who are already in Australia. New Zealand also does not have any international assignments during the WBBL. It will be interesting to see who Hurricanes signs next in place of Lizelle Lee. 

Hobart Hurricanes squad so far: Nicola Carey, Mignon du Preez (SA), Maisy Gibson, Rachel Priest (NZ), Chloe Rafferty, Amy Smith, Naomi Stalenberg, Molly Strano, Rachel Trenaman, Belinda Vakarewa, Tayla Vlaeminck.