WCPL: From Sophie Devine to Shreyanka Patil - Overseas stars

From Sophie Devine to Fran Jonas, young Orla Prendergast and Shreyanka Patil, big-hitting Laura Harris, WCPL has managed an array of overseas stars

Shivangi Sinha
New Update
Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders won the inaugural WCPL © Getty images

The highly anticipated Women’s Caribbean Premier League (WCPL) is just around the corner and fans from all over the world are eagerly awaiting the start of the tournament. Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, and Trinbago Knight Riders will once again compete in this three-team event for women’s cricket.

In the inaugural edition of the tournament held in 2022, each team faced the others once with the top two teams advancing to the final. However, this year, the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) governing body has taken a decision to expand the tournament to a double-round robin format with each team facing the others twice.

“We were delighted with the reception the first WCPL received in 2022 and we cannot wait for the start of an expanded tournament this year. These hugely talented players deserve the best chance to showcase their talents and the WCPL is the perfect stage for this. Women’s cricket is growing rapidly, and it is pleasing for CPL to play a significant part in that growth,” said Pete Russell, CEO of the CPL.

The first edition of the WCPL saw a closely contested final, with Deandra Dottin leading Trinbago Knight Riders to victory over the Hayley Matthews-led Barbados Royals. The franchises are all geared up, with each team having drafted a mix of local talent and overseas stars. Each team has picked four international players hailing from Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Ireland, and India. Women's Criczone takes a closer look at the overseas talents of each team.

Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago Knight Riders, the champions of the inaugural edition of the tournament, have picked some serious talents in their squad. With players such as Orla Prendergast, Marie Kelly, Mignon du Preez, and Fran Jonas in their ranks, they have a formidable team.

Prendergast showed immense character against the world champions during the recent Australia tour of Ireland. Kelly was phenomenal as she scored 176 runs for the runners-up Northern Superchargers at the freshly concluded The Hundred and she replaced injured Dane van Niekerk in the Trinbago squad.

In her short career so far, Jonas has troubled her opposition with her slow left-arm orthodox bowling. The 19-year-old Kiwi's career-best figure of 3 for 16 in the Caribbean Islands is the perfect icing on the cake. The South African stalwart, du Preez, has been away from cricket since the Fairbreak Invitational Tournament in April 2023 and might be rusty, but given her experience, she can get going from the first ball.

The side will be captained by Deandra Dottin, with players such as Shamillia Connell, Anisa Mohammad, Kycia Knight, and Kyshona Knight also looking to guide the young troop with their international experience. The team's first match is scheduled against the Barbados Royals on September 2 at Bridgetown, Barbados.

Squad: Britney Cooper, Mignon du Preez, Kyshona Knight, Deandra Dottin (C), Orla Prendergast, Dane van Niekerk, Zaida James, Anisa Mohammed, Kycia Knight (wk), Shunelle Sawh, Lee-Ann Kirby, Carena Noel, Samara Ramnath, Shamilia Connell, Fran Jonas

Guyana Amazon Warriors

Guyana Amazon Warriors have an impressive line-up with Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Shabnim Ismail, and Shreyanka Patil. Each of these players possesses a unique skill set that makes them match-winners in their respective areas of expertise.

The White Ferns duo of Devine and Bates, are widely considered to be among the best white ball batters in the world. Bates holds the record for the highest number of runs scored in women's T20Is, with an impressive tally of 3953 runs. Devine, on the other hand, is ranked fifth on the list with 3020 runs. Additionally, Devine's wicket-taking ability adds a layer of flexibility to the team, with 110 scalps to her name. Devine's batting prowess was exemplified when she hit 99 at a strike rate of 275 against Gujarat Giants in the Women's Premier League (WPL).

Ismail, known for her lethal pace, recently wreaked havoc in The Hundred, taking a hat-trick against Birmingham Phoenix and defending eight runs in the final set with great style.

Shreyanka is the first Indian player to participate in the WCPL, rising to fame after a brilliant season with the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the WPL, where she picked six wickets and scored 62 runs at a strike rate of 151.21. She also bagged the player of the tournament award after picking 9 scalps from only 2 matches at the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup.

The team, led by Stafanie Taylor, boasts other notable players from West Indies, such as Cherry Ann Fraser, Shemaine Campbelle, Shabika Gajnabi, Karishma Ramharack, and Shakera Selman. The Royals will face off against the Barbados Royals in the opening fixture on August 31.

Squad: Cherry Ann Fraser, Sheneta Grimmond, Stafanie Taylor (C), Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine, Djenaba Joseph, Ashmini Munisar, Shreyanka Patil, Shemaine Campbelle (wk), Natasha McLean, Shabika Gajnabi, Shabnim Ismail, Karishma Ramharack, Kaysia Schultz, Shakera Selman

Barbados Royals

Barbados Royals, led by Hayley Matthews, are determined to go one step further this time. Adding to their strength, they have included Australian power-hitter Laura Harris in their squad. Harris is known for her incredible striking ability, having scored 270 runs in the WBBL 2022 at a strike rate of 204. Despite only managing 91 runs in the Hundred, it is worth noting that her runs came at a rate of 193.6.

Alongside Harris, the squad includes Erin Burns, who replaced The Hundred’s MVP Marizanne Kapp.

When Ireland toured West Indies, the young Irish batter Gaby Lewis made an impression by finishing the ODI leg as the highest run-scorer. She has played 74 T20I matches and has scored 1658 runs in her career.

Amanda-Jade Wellington, another Australian player, will support Matthews in the spin department. The leg-spinner has impressed everyone with her performance across the globe, having picked 23 scalps in the WBBL 2022, including a best of 5 for 8. Moreover, she has picked the most wickets in the short history of the Hundred, with her tally of 35 wickets.

Chedean Nation, Chinelle Henry, and Afy Fletcher are other notable players from West Indies. arbados Royals will take on the Guyana Amazon Warriors in the tournament opener.

Squad: Laura Harris, Hayley Matthews (C), Chinelle Henry, Marizanne Kapp, Chedean Nation, Rashada Williams (wk), Trishan Holder, Vanessa Watts, Aaliyah Alleyne, Jahzara Claxton, Afy Fletcher, Jannillea Glasgow, Qiana Joseph, Amanda-Jade Wellington