Lauren Bell called up for India T20Is; Brunt rested, Knight out with injury

New Update
Lauren Bell called up for India T20Is; Brunt rested, Knight out with injury

Lauren Bell has been called up to England's T20I squad for the first time. © Getty Images

England have announced a squad of 14 players for the T20I series against India, which gets underway in Durham on Saturday (September 10).

There are two changes from the group which participated in the Commonwealth Games. Heather Knight continues her recovery from a hip injury, and England’s leading T20I wicket-taker Katherine Brunt will miss the series to prioritise her rest and recovery.

Brunt is replaced in the squad by Lauren Bell, who earns her first T20I call-up.

England Women Head Coach Lisa Keightley, who will be taking charge of her last series before returning home to Australia, said: "I'm excited about finishing my time with this team with a really exciting series against India. They're a great side and we'll have to be at our best to win.

"After discussions with Katherine she felt the best thing for her was to rest across both the T20 and ODI series. We fully support that decision with a view to maximising her mental and physical recovery off the back of what has been an intense year so far.

"That provides an opportunity for Lauren Bell, who was impressive in The Hundred, and with her, Alice Capsey, Freya Kemp and Issy Wong in the squad, we're starting to see a group of exciting young players who have the chance to cement their place in the England team."

England squad: Natalie Sciver (Northern Diamonds, cap), Lauren Bell (Southern Vipers), Maia Bouchier (Southern Vipers), Alice Capsey (South East Stars), Kate Cross (Thunder), Freya Davies (South East Stars), Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars), Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder), Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks), Amy Jones (Central Sparks), Freya Kemp (Southern Vipers), Bryony Smith (South East Stars), Issy Wong (Central Sparks) and Danielle Wyatt (Southern Vipers).


T20I Series

Saturday September 10: 1st T20I, England v India (Chester-le-Street, 7pm)

Tuesday September 13: 2nd T20I, England v India (Derby, 6pm*)

Thursday September 15: 3rd T20I, England v India (Bristol, 6.30pm)

Royal London Series

Sunday September 18: 1st ODI, England v India (Hove, 11am)

Wednesday September 21: 2nd ODI, England v India (Canterbury, 1pm)

Saturday September 24: 3rd ODI, England v India (Lord's, 11am)

*The 2nd Vitality T20I on Tuesday September 13 at Derby, will now begin at 6pm