Lancashire Thunder finalise squad; Cross at the helm

Lancashire Thunder finalise squad; Cross at the helm

Lancashire Thunder team. ©ProSports Images

Kate Cross will lead a strong Lancashire Thunder squad in the final edition of the Women’s Cricket Super League in England. Cross was appointed captain following Danielle Hazell’s retirement and subsequent shift to coaching.

The medium pacer will be joined by Sophie Ecclestone and Alex Hartley, the left-arm spinners, while Sophia Dunkley, who previously turned out for Surrey Stars has been shifted over to the Lancashire squad and completes the list of England internationals.

Harmanpreet Kaur returns to the club after a successful stint in the previous season. She is joined by Sune Luus, the South African allrounder, and Tahlia McGrath, the Australian, as the team’s overseas recruits. While Luus was previously a member of the Yorkshire Diamonds team in 2017, thiswill be McGrath’s first experience in the WCSL.

Georgie Boyce, Emma Lamb and Ellie Threlkeld, all of whom were recently part of the England Academy squad that took on Australia A, will all turn out for Thunder. They will be joined by Alice Dyson, Eve Jones and Natalie Brown, who have all previoulsy been part of the squad.

Danielle Collins, the left-hand bater who has, for the last three years, been part of the Thunder Regional Development Centre, finally makes the step up to the senior level, while Ria Fackrell, a batter from Warwickshire, is the final new face in the squad.

Thunder will be looking to put up an improved show in order to build on last season’s fourth place finish.

Lancashire Thunder squad: Kate Cross (c), Georgie Boyce, Natalie Brown, Danielle Collins, Sophia Dunkley, Alice Dyson, Sophie Ecclestone, Ria Fackrell, Alex Hartley, Eve Jones, Harmanpreet Kaur, Emma Lamb, Sune Luus, Tahlia McGrath, Ellie Threlkeld

Read The Next Article