KZN Coastal retain Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail for upcoming season  

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
KZN Coastal retain Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail for upcoming season  

Trisha Chetty. ©Getty Images

South Africa internationals Trisha Chetty and Shabnim Ismail retain their places in the Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal side as the club announced its strong 21-member squad for the 2020-21 season on Wednesday (May 6). Those two, along with Chloe Tryon, and the newly capped Nondumiso Shangase and Nonkululeko Mlaba give the side a strong national flavor.

However, the side will no longer have the services of Dinesha Devnarain who has been promoted to the national set-up where she will coach the South Africa U-19 side and take charge of the women’s national academy. The coaching position hasn’t been filled yet.

The past season, which was curtailed by the Coronavirus outbreak, has been a fruitful one KZN Coastal. While in the CSA Provincial League, the side finished fourth overall, they ended fifth in the CSA Provincial T20 Competition, booking a Top Six spot for the upcoming season.

ALSO READ: Sune Luus excited by talent in Northerns ranks

“Looking ahead there are players that have moved up to higher levels and that shows that we as a team are producing better cricketers,” KZN Coastal Cricket Services Manager Ritesh Ramjee said. “That leaves space for the new players to show their skills and bring something new to the KZN Women’s setup.

“We are really excited that the team will begin the 2020-21 season in the Top Six and to have the experience of Trisha, Shabnim, Nondumiso, Chloe and Nonkuleleko to nurture the younger talent in the pipeline can only be a bonus to KZN,” he added.

The squad: Courtney Gounden, Kiara Fisher, Dheyanka Naidoo, Sabathile Madlala, Jade de Figueiredo, Nondumiso Shangase, Trisha Chetty, Shabnim Ismail, Nicole De Klerk, Nosipho Yaka, Nonkuloleko Mlaba, Sisanda Ngubane, Ayanda Hlubi, Nomzamo Shabane, Chloe Tryon, Pretty Molefe, Nokwazi Ndimande, Asamkele Kawu, Seshnie Naidu, Nobuhle Busane and Nadine Moodley.