Senior T20 League: Kiran Navgire's all-round show helps Nagaland to big win

New Update
Nagaland, Manipur and Pondicherry register wins on opening day of Senior T20 League

Kiran Prabhu Navgire

Nagaland and Pondicherry continued their winning runs as Jammu & Kashmir began their campaign with a win on the second day of the Senior T20 League in Guwahati on Saturday.

Pondicherry vs Arunachal Pradesh

Pondicherry won their second match on the trot as they defeated Arunachal Pradesh by a comfortable margin of 73 runs at the ACA stadium in Barsapara.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss, Pondicherry scored 136 for the loss of just two wickets, with the ever consistent Bhakti Tamore top-scoring with 56 off 49 deliveries.

Arunachal never got going in the chase and could only manage to score 63 runs for the loss of nine wickets in their 20 overs to suffer a big loss.

ALSO READ: Nagaland, Manipur and Pondicherry register wins on opening day of Senior T20 League

Jammu & Kashmir vs Mizoram

In the second match of the day, J&K; got off to a winning start in their opening match as Mizoram scored 103 after electing to bat first inspite of losing just three wickets.

J&K;’s chase was far from comfortable, but they eventually chased down the target with four wickets and four balls to spare. Opener Bawandeep Kaur played the anchor’s role to perfection with 34 off 40 deliveries.

Manipur vs Nagaland

Kiran Prabhu Navgire did the star turn again for Nagaland in the day’s final match as she opened both the bowling and batting in her team’s emphatic eight-wicket win.

Navgire took 1-14 with the ball as Manipur scored 91/9 off their 20 overs. Navgire then scored an unbeaten 81 off just 38 balls in the chase as Nagaland chased the target down with 49 balls remaining.

Brief Scores:

Pondicherry 136/2 in 20 overs (Bhakti Tamore 56; Shivi Yadav 1/22) beat Arunachal Pradesh 63/9 in 20 overs (Mai Mekh 14; Rozario 3/5) by 73 runs.

Mizoram 101/3 in 20 overs (Tarang Jha 50; Sarla Devi 1/3) lost to Jammu & Kashmir 102/6 in 19.2 overs (Bawandeep Kaur 34; Puipuii 2/12) by four wickets.

Manipur 91/9 in 20 overs (Chingkhei M 21; Gautami Naik 2/12) lost to Nagaland 92/2 in 11.5 overs (Kiran Prabhu Navgire 81*; Th Mangalsana 2/17) by eight wickets.