Kate Ebrahim, Thamsyn Newton recalled to New Zealand squad for T20I series against England

New Update
Kate Ebrahim's best lights up Hagley Oval; Magicians thump Spirit by 53 runs

Kate Ebrahim in action for Canterbury Magicians © Getty Images

New Zealand Cricket has announced the 13-member squad for the three-match T20I series against England that is scheduled to begin on Mach 3, 2021. Coming on the back of strong Super Smash T20 performances, Canterbury Magicians star Kate Ebrahim and the Wellington Blaze seamer Thamsyn Newton have been recalled to the national team.

Jason Wells, the White Ferns selector, said that their return was a reward for their strong domestic performances. “Kate and Thamsyn have worked hard and proven their ability in the Dream11 Super Smash this season,” said Wells.

Ebrahim, who helped the Magicians trump Blaze in the Super Smash final with her unbeaten 40-ball 45, last played for the White Ferns in October 2018. She smashed 292 runs in nine innings at an average of 73 in the recently concluded T20 tournament. Newton, on the other hand, makes a comeback into the team after three years. The 25-year-old took seven wickets at 26.71 including six catches in the tournament.

ALSO READ: Teen Fran Jonas earns maiden call-up; Frances Mackay returns as New Zealand name squad for England ODIs

“Kate has been excellent with the bat for the Magicians and yesterday’s match-winning knock in the Grand Final capped off a superb Super Smash campaign for her. Thamsyn is an athletic cricketer whose all-round skills have served the Blaze well in their T20 campaign.”

 He said that the remainder of the squad had a familiar feel to it, adding, “we have shown faith in this group of cricketers and believe they have the skills and talent to compete against a strong English side."

Star allrounder Suzie Bates, who is out of action due to shoulder injury, was not considered for the selection. Among the other players who were a part of the 17-member team that toured Australia in October last year, Katie Perkins, Jess Watkins, Natalie Dodd, Deanna Doughty, Holly Huddleston, and Lauren Down missed out.

ALSO READ: Natasha Farrant recalled for New Zealand tour; Anya Shrubsole out due to injury

This T20 series would be played as double-header fixtures simultaneously alongside the New Zealand men's T20 international series against Australia.

New Zealand squad for England T20 series: Sophie Devine (C), Amy Satterthwaite (VC), Kate Ebrahim, Maddy Green, Hayley Jensen, Leigh Kasperek, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Katey Martin (wk), Thamsyn Newton, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu