Jhansi Challa picks five in Andhra's loss on Day 4 of Super League

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Jhansi Challa picks five in Andhra's loss on Day 4 of Super League

CH Jhansi Lakshmi. © Srinivas Reddy

Sometimes, even the best isn’t enough. Jhansi Challa might have learnt it the hard way as her five-wicket haul – the first in Women’s Senior T20 Trophy 2019-20 – wasn’t enough for Andhra Pradesh to register a win over Uttar Pradesh on Day 4 of the Super League. Nonetheless, her spell was the highlight of Monday (November 4).

Uttar Pradesh had batted first and posted 117 for eight in their 20 overs. Anjali Singh had a 39 to show as the highest score in the innings, as Challa’s bowling had hardly let anyone off the hook. But Andhra’s batting fell way short to lose the contest by 19 runs.

In another match in Mulapadu, Vidarbha upstaged Karnataka by three wickets. Thanks to Komal Zanzad’s three for 16, the latter were bundled out for 70. The former scaled the target with Bharti Fulmali scoring a patient unbeaten 30. Pratyusha Challuru did pick four wickets but that effort wasn’t enough for her side.

In the third clash of the day, Railways romped home to a ten-wicket win over Baroda, who were restricted to 87 for eight. Nuzhat Parween continued her good run in the Super League, ending unbeaten on 54.

Meanwhile, Himachal Pradesh registered a 36-run victory over Jharkhand. Chasing 118 for a win, Jharkhand were dismissed for 81 with Tanuja Kanwer picking up a three-wicket haul.

Brief Scores:

Karnataka 70 all out in 19 overs (Komal Zanzad 3/16) lost to Vidarbha 74/7 in 16 overs (Bharti Fulmali 30*; Prathyusha Challuru 4/20) by three wickets.

Baroda 87/8 in 20 overs (Preeti Bose 2/11, Swagatika Rath 2/18) lost to Railways 90/0 in 16.1 overs (Nuzhat Parween 54*) by ten wickets.

Uttar Pradesh 117/8 in 20 overs (Anjali Singh 39; Jhansi Challa 5/21) beat Andhra Pradesh 98/9 in 20 overs (Meghna Singh 3/24) by 19 runs.

Himachal Pradesh 117/9 in 20 overs (Tanuja Kanwer 23, Shivani Singh 21, Nikita Chauhan 21; Arti Kumari 2/15, Niharika Prasad 2/19, Nidhi Buley 2/30) beat Jharkhand 81 all out in 18.4 overs (Reena Singh 23; Tanuja Kanwer 3/12) by 36 runs.