Jemma Barsby, Sammy-Jo Johnson bags top honours

New Update
Jemma Barsby, Sammy-Jo Johnson bags top honours

Jemma Barsby, Sammy-Jo Johnson at the awards.

Jemma Barsby has been named the Queensland Fire and Bulls Players of the Year at the Queensland Cricket Awards.

All-rounder Barsby played a key role in the Queensland Fire’s charge to the Women’s National Cricket League Final, finishing as the team’s leading wicket-taker with 10, while also contributing 140 runs at an average of 35.

Barsby was a member of Queensland’s past and present female cricketers taking centre stage during the award’s night that saw the Brisbane Heat’s Women’s Big Bash League championship celebrated, and former greats recognised for their contributions to cricket with the launch of the Women’s Hall of Fame, where Julia Price and Melissa Bulow were honoured as the inaugural inductees.

Price and Bulow, considered pioneers of women’s cricket in Queensland, were presented with portraits to recognise their careers that for both players included over 100 one-day games in maroon.

Price’s international career saw her play 10 Tests and 84 One-Day Internationals, including two ICC World Cup victories, while Bulow played 23 matches for Australia and was a member of the Fire side that won the Women’s T20 Competition in 2014. Her 122 one-day games for Queensland are also the most by a women’s cricketer.

Johnson was named the Brisbane Heat’s Women’s Big Bash League Most Valuable Player after a breakout campaign that saw her hit 260 runs and take 20 wickets.

During the awards dinner, it was announced that Queensland Cricket and the Department of Transport and Main Roads (TMR) were renewing their official partnership that would see cricket continue to support and promote road safety for the next four years.

Chief Executive Officer Max Walters said Queensland Cricket was proud to continue partnering with TMR to promote road safety.

“Cricket is a sport played and enjoyed across every corner of our state, so ensuring our players, fans and volunteers get to and from games is of the utmost importance and a message we are proud to promote.

“The last three years of our partnership working with the Department of Transport and Main Roads has been extremely valuable and well aligned with our values of supporting Queensland communities. We sincerely thank the Queensland Government for their continued support of cricket, and we look forward to working together over the next four years to ensure Queenslanders remain safe on our roads," Mr. Walters said.

Queensland Cricket will continue to promote TMR messaging across the Big Bash League, Women’s Big Bash League, community cricket and school competitions, while also supporting initiatives and events such as Queensland Road Safety Week.

Queensland Cricket Award Winners 2018-19 

QLD Fire Player of the Season – Jemma Barsby

QLD Fire Players’ Player – Sammy-Jo Johnson

QLD Fire Fielder of the Year – Haidee Birkett

Brisbane Heat WBBL Most Valuable Player – Sammy-Jo Johnson

QLD Youth Female Player of the Year – Courtney Sippel

QLD Government Female Country Player of the Year – Lexie Muller

QLD Lightning Player of the Year (Indoor - female) - Jude Coleman