Jaya Sharma, Amita Sharma named chair of senior, junior Delhi teams

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Jaya Sharma, Amita Sharma named chair of senior, junior Delhi teams

Amita Sharma (l) and Jaya Sharma will head the selection committees of junior and senior Delhi teams respectively. © The Bridge/Getty Images/ Women's CricZone

Former India players Jaya Sharma and Amita Sharma are set to lead the senior and junior team’s selection committee for 2021-22, the Delhi and Districts Cricket Association announced on Saturday (August 14).

Jaya will have Asha Rawat and Renuka Dua in the three-member panel. Dua was the chairperson of the junior women’s selection committee in 2018-19. Amita, on the other hand, will have the company of Deepti Dhayani, who was part of the Delhi team that won the One Day Trophy in 2011, and Vandana Gupta.

In July, the DDCA had called for applicants for the posts of selectors as well as coaches for the senior and junior women’s and men’s teams.

The senior women will be coached by Suman Sharma while Khyati Gulani and Ragini Malhotra will serve as the fielding and bowling coach respectively. Neeru will be the head coach of the U-23 team while Neha Tanwar will be the batting coach with Rishit Saini looking after the bowling department.

Latika Kumari has been selected as the head coach of the U-19 side with Mandeep Kaur and Kuldeep Rawat taking care of the batting and bowling aspects respectively.