Ellyse Perry playing the IPL exhibition game. ©BCCI

Jaipur is all set to host the four women’s T20 exhibition games on the sidelines of the IPL playoffs. The three league matches will be played on May 6, 8 and 9 with the finals to take place on May 11.

As per reports in ESPNcricinfo, this year will see the addition of a third team reportedly named Velocity alongside Supernovas and Trailblazers from last year. Mithali Raj will captain the third team with Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana continuing their duties from last year.

Unlike last year when a single game took place at the Wankhede before the first qualifier, this year sees a format similar to the Women’s Challenger Trophy as every team plays the other team once before the top two teams face each other in the finals.

Players from West Indies and Sri Lanka will be added to the already existing players from Australia, England and New Zealand. South Africa will most likely miss out as they face Pakistan in a home ODI series during the same period.

As per reports, all the four games will be televised live with the BCCI set to finalise the timings in consultation with the host broadcasters. Supernovas had beaten Trailblazers of the final ball in the last year’s only game.

Leave a Reply