Ireland to tour Zimbabwe for four ODIs; Laura Delany to lead 15-member squad

New Update
Ireland aim to power ahead with bowling surplus at their disposal

The bowling surplus at their disposal would please Ireland. © Oisin Keniry

Ireland will travel to Zimbabwe for a four-match ODI series in October ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier that’s scheduled to be played in November. Laura Delany will lead the 15-member squad for the tour.

Ireland last played an ODI in June 2018 and the series will also mark Zimbabwe’s debut in the format after having granted ODI status by ICC in April this year. Both sides have been in action in recent times in the T20I format.

Zimbabwe won the Africa Qualifier to qualify for the Global Qualifier for the T20 World Cup 2023 in South Africa, while Ireland finished second in the T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier behind Scotland. The Irish side will be without the player of the tournament Eimear Richardson and Gaby Lewis, Orla Prendergast will form the core of the side along with Delany.

“This tour will be an important part of our build-up to next month’s World Cup Qualifier, and will provide the squad with an excellent opportunity to experience playing conditions in Zimbabwe and at a key host venue as part of that Qualifier,” Ed Joyce, Ireland head coach said.

ALSO READ: Laura Delany, Gaby Lewis eager to take massive strides ahead of crucial year for Ireland

“Our focus in recent months has been predominantly T20 cricket, so these fixtures are even more valuable to the players as a means of resetting their approach to take on the longer format of the game.”

Joyce added that many of the players will use their experience from the 2018 tour to Zimbabwe and expects the series to a competitive nature with the quality of the hosts.

“Several of the players in the squad were part of the 2018 side that toured Zimbabwe – and while that series suffered due to numerous rain-outs, the competitiveness and quality of both sides were tested, and we expect that this series will be no different,” Joyce concluded.

Ireland squad: Laura Delany (c), Zara Craig, Georgina Dempsey, Sarah Forbes, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Gaby Lewis, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron.



October 5 1st ODI

October 7 2nd ODI

October 9 3rd ODI

October 11 4th ODI

*all matches to be played at the Harare Sports Club