Ireland announce 14-member squad for four-match T20I series against Netherlands

Women's CricZone Staff
New Update
Ireland to take on North West Thunder at the Old Trafford

Ava Canning celebrates a wicket. © Oisin Keniry/ Cricket Ireland

Cricket Ireland has announced a 14-member squad for the four-match T20I series against the Netherlands that is scheduled to begin on July 26. Laura Delany will be leading the team, with Eimer Richardson, Mary Waldron and Sophie MacMahon returning to the team.

Ireland will be going into the series on the back of a 3-1 series win against Scotland earlier in May. The Netherlands, on the other hand, will be playing their first international since September 2019.

Speaking about the squad Carrie Archer, the Chair of National Women’s Selectors, said that the team would be looking to continue its good form ahead of the T20 Qualifiers next month.

On the return of Richardson, who was playing club cricket in New Zealand, she said, "her experience and all-round skills will be a great addition to the squad."

"We also welcome back Waldron, who has recently returned from Australia and is in line to play her first international in almost two years.”

ALSO READ: Laura Delany, Gaby Lewis eager to take massive strides ahead of crucial year for Ireland

Allrounder MacMahon, who missed the series against Scotland, is back in the team after stellar performances in the Super Series.

“Sophie was unavailable for the Scotland series but has had some impressive performances in the Super Series white-ball matches, scoring 149 runs at 49.67 and taking six wickets at 23.67 apiece – at an economical rate of 3.42 runs per over," said Archer. "I look forward to seeing her once more in an international jersey.”

With the T20 World Cup European Qualifier scheduled to happen in Spain, both the teams would want to do well in the lead up to the tournament.

Squad: Laura Delany (c), Ava Canning, Rachel Delaney, Georgina Dempsey, Shauna Kavanagh, Gaby Lewis, Lara Maritz, Sophie MacMahon, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Eimear Richardson, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron