India will begin their post World T20 Campaign in New Zealand. ©Photosport

India team is all set to tour New Zealand in January next year. 2019 will begin with a stellar start with two of the best teams facing each other in three ODIs and three T20I. The series will be played from Jan 24 to Feb 10 in New Zealand.

McLean Park, Bay Oval, and Seddon Park will host the three ODIs as part of the ICC Women’s Championship (2017-20) while Westpac Stadium, Eden Park, and Seddon Park are the venues of three T20I. New Zealand and India will get to see all the matches live for the very first time.

All the matches will start one hour later, as per the NZC’s agreement with Star Sports, except for the second T20I on February 8 at Eden Park. Because of the restrictions on the number of events, Eden Park can’t hold more matches at night.

“NZC would’ve liked to schedule more India matches at Eden Park in Auckland but was unable to do so because of restrictions at the venue”, NZC CEO Anthony Crummy recently addressed in media.

He further added, “It’s also healthy to be driving greater exposure and appeal in the women’s game. All six of the WHITE FERNS’ fixtures will be televised live for the first time in New Zealand history.”

WHITE FERNS are currently at the top the point table with 12 points after playing nine matches. They have played against Pakistan, West Indies, and England as part of the Championship.

On the other hand, India won their first series against South Africa earlier this year but lost to Australia in March. They are in the sixth position with 4 points after playing six matches.

As far as the recent history is concerned between the two sides in ODIs, India won against New Zealand convincingly in the ICC Women’s World Cup, 2017.

Full Schedule Here

Leave a Reply