Mansi Joshi makes her national return. ©ICC

India have announced their squad for the 3 ODI and 5 T20I series against Sri Lanka. The series is scheduled to be played between September 11 to 25, 2018. The 3 ODIs will be a part of the ICC Women’s Championship (2017-2020). After beating England 2-1 on their home soil earlier this year, India will surely be the favourite in this series. 5 T20Is will help both the teams to prepare for the upcoming World Cup later this year.

Some changes have been made in both the formats of the game. Punam Raut, who scored 135 runs at an average of 33.75 with a strike rate of 81.81 in the recently concluded T20 Challenger Trophy, has been selected in the ODI squad after missing the England series earlier this year due to an injury. Vanitha VR, who scored 128 runs at an average of 25.60 and a strike rate of 102.40 in the T20 Challenger Trophy, couldn’t make it to the national team.

Hemalatha Dayalan, the uncapped all-rounder, who was called up for the home series against England and did not get a chance to play there, has been picked up for both the formats. Taniya Bhatia, who made her T20I debut during the South Africa series, was selected in the ODI squad, with Sushma Verma being left out. Bhatia scored 58 runs in 3 matches at an average of 29 with the strike rate of 123.40. Her quick-fire scoring ability helped her to earn the place in ODI too.

Mansi Joshi, who last played in the ICC Women’s World Cup last year, returns in both the squads after missing out the first part of the year due to a knee injury. Whereas Devika Vaidya and Pooja Vastrakar couldn’t make it to the squad as Vaidya is recovering from dengue which ruled her out of the T20 Challenger Trophy and Vastrakar is undergoing her knee injury treatment.

After the not-so-good performances in the T20 format from the Triangular series and the retirement of the veteran pacer Jhulan Goswami from T20Is earlier today, India is slightly on the backfoot in this format now. All-rounder Arundhati Reddy earned her maiden call-up in the T20 squad. Mona Meshram couldn’t make it to the squad due to her poor form. Rajeshwari Gayakwad found herself out of the T20 squad whereas Radha Yadav has been selected after she missing the Asia Cup.

Mithali Raj will lead the 15-member squad in the ODIs while Harmanpreet Kaur will be her deputy. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the 15-member squad in the T20I, where Smriti Mandhana will be her deputy.

ODI Squad:

Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur (vc), Smriti Mandhana, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma, Dayalan Hemlata, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey

T20I Squad:

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Dayalan Hemlata, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi

Leave a Reply