India B crowned Under-23 T20 Challenger Trophy champions

New Update
Shrayosi Aich stars on washout-filled Day 10 of Women's Senior T20 Trophy

Shrayosi Aich. © Special Arrangement

Vrushali Bhagat and Shayosi Aich headlined India B’s five-wicket win over India C in the final of the Under-23 T20 Challenger Trophy. Aich picked up three wickets with her leg-spin, before Bhagat’s valuable 41 at the top of the order, laid the foundation to India B’s comfortable chase.

Having chosen to field, Anjali Sarvani, the left-arm seamer, got India B off to a terrific start, dismissing Renuka Chaudhari for two in only the second over of the game. Kajal Jena and Indrani Roy put together a laboured 30-run partnership for the second wicket, before Aich made her mark on the match.

In the 10th over, the leg-spinner removed both Jena (16) and Roy (15) to reduce India C to 35 for 3. Skipper Prativa Rana and Sheetal Rana resurrected the innings, also lifting the rate along the way. However, just when she was beginning to shift gears, Prativa fell to Rashi Kanojiya’s left-arm spin for 17. Sheetal continued on her merry way, remaining unbeaten on 29 off 30 balls. In the company of Utkarsha Pawar, who made an enterprising 13, she helped India C to 96 for 5 in their 20 overs.

Aich, who removed Pawar off the final ball of the innings, finished with figures of 3 for 14.

In the chase, Bhagat and N Anusha started off solidly for India B, stringing together a 54-run partnership. While Anusha stoically held one end up with 12 off 28 deliveries, Bhagat set the tempo with her run-a-ball effort.

Leg-spinner Prakashika Naik and seamer Suman Gulia combined to give India C a sniff. Naik removed Anusha, before Gulia took two wickets in the following over— including that of Bhagat— to leave India B at 62 for 3 in the 13th over.

Minnu Mani, however arrested the fall, remained unbeaten on 17, and took India B home in 18.4 overs, with five wickets to spare.

Gulia’s spell of 3 for 17 was the only thing that kept India C in the hunt through the second innings.

Brief Scores: India C 96/5 in 20 overs (Sheetal Rana 29*; Shrayosi Aich 3-14) lost to India B 97/5 in 18.4 overs (Vrushali Bhagat 41; Suman Gulia 3-17) by five wickets.