India A squad announced for home series against Bangladesh A


We all know India is known as a cricket loving nation. But it seemed incomplete as women cricket was recognized to an extent. Now the time has changed, as we have witnessed the greatest revolution in women cricket after the stunning ICC Women’s World Cup. The heroics of the Indian team coerce Indians to follow women’s cricket. It also led BCCI to rethink about women’s cricket seriously. Post the successful world cup in England where India reached the finals, the BCCI held a meeting with Women Cricket authorities and senior Indian players Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami and Harmanpreet Kaur, where they discussed the necessary improvements to be carried out in Indian Women’s Cricket structure. The discussion highlighted many points such as an increase in a number of International matches, Women’s IPL, India A tours, domestic structures improvement among the many.


With an aim to strengthen women’s cricket in the country, the BCCI as a part of its development programme took the first step by scheduling the India A home series against Bangladesh A where they will play 3 One Days and 3 T20s along with 2 practice matches against Karnataka. The tour will be of 21 days starting on 26th November with a warm-up game to the last T20 being played on 16th December. Matches will be played at Alur, Hubli, and Belgaum in the state of Karnataka. Prior to the One Days and T20s, Alur will host two practice games. 3 One-day matches will be played at Hubli followed by 3 T20s which will be played at Belgaum. On 20th November, the BCCI Selection committee announced the Indian squad for One Day and T20s. Anuja Patil is named as a captain for both the formats. 16-year old, U19 Super League sensation, Jemimah Rodrigues has been rewarded for her extraordinary performances which include 5 centuries including a double century till the semis. Mansi Joshi and Nuzhat Parween from the World Cup squad while International players like M.D. Thirushkamini, Vanitha VR and Devika Vaidya are set to make a comeback.


India “A” Team for One-Day Matches:
Anuja Patil (Captain), S Meghana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Neha Tanwar, Nuzhat Parween (WK), Kavita Patil, Preeti Bose, Shivangi Raj, Devika Vaidya, VR Vanitha, Neenu Choudhry, Mansi Joshi, Sukanya Parida, Priyanka Priyadarshini, M.D. Thirushkamini.


India “A” Team for T20 Matches:
Anuja Patil (Captain), S Meghana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Devika Vaidya, VR Vanitha, Swagatika Rath, Pooja Vastrakar, T P Kanwar, Soni Yadav, Ramya S Doli, D Hemlatha, Tanya Bhatia (WK), Meghna Singh, Radha Yadav, Tararannum Pathan.


Hope this big step taken by the BCCI will help improve their game at the International level.