Women’s Championship to feature eight series each for all ten teams; ODI status for Netherlands, PNG, Scotland, Thailand, USA

Australia are current holders of IWC © Getty Images

All the ten teams will feature in a set of eight three-match series each with ICC announcing the format for third edition of the ICC Women’s Championship (IWC 2022-25) on Wednesday (May 25).

With ICC adding two teams to the 2022-25 cycle, the ten teams – Australia, South Africa, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland – will play four home and away series each during the third edition. Top five teams plus the hosts will qualify for the World Cup and the other four teams from the IWC will feature in the six-team Qualifier. Number 11 and 12 ranked sides will round up the qualifier.

Defending champions Australia will host India, South Africa, Pakistan, and West Indies and will travel to England, New Zealand, Bangladesh and Ireland. India will be play New Zealand, South Africa, Ireland, and West Indies at home and will have away series in England, Australia, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka.

“The third edition of the Championship is going to be exciting. As we saw at the most recent ODI World Cup, there are a number of nations really starting to emerge so we’re going to have to be at the top of our game. We pride ourselves on finding ways to keep evolving and it’ll be more important than ever over the next period,” Meg Lanning said.

“To have Bangladesh and Ireland involved, will not only be great for us to have the chance to play more cricket against them, but also to expose them to more cricket against the top nations. We want to see the women’s game as strong as possible and developing the next tier of nations is a big part of that.”

ALSO READ: Australia retain World Cup winning squad for Commonwealth Games, Ireland Tri-Series

One of the other important decisions by the game’s governing body is to award ODI status to Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, and USA with immediate effect.

The 2022-25 cycle will start off when Pakistan host Sri Lanka from June 1 and at the same time South Africa will be travelling to Ireland in early June.

“Increasing the number of teams in the ICC Women’s Championship and awarding ODI status to five additional teams will help us to accelerate the growth of the women’s game. More teams playing more regularly creates a more competitive environment as we saw at the recent ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in New Zealand,” Geoff Allardice, ICC chief executive, said.

“The context that the IWC brings is so important and ensures fans around the world can enjoy meaningful and competitive cricket throughout the year. I wish all the teams in the ICC Women’s Championship the very best in this next edition and good luck to Netherlands, PNG, Scotland, Thailand and USA on what I hope will be a great opportunity to develop in 50 over cricket in their countries.”